hold your little ones close

I like to think we live in a relatively small and safe community. However even in small town Ontario bad things can happen.  Three years ago, a young girl was abducted as she left school by two monsters in a small community 20 minutes from here. The man and the woman did horrible things to this little 8 year old, and in the end she became an angel way too young. Late last night, the second of the two monsters was found guilty. Guillty! I think everyone in Canada celebrated – a little more evil off the streets. 

It scares me so much thinking about Alex, going off to school this Fall, waiting for the bus, perhaps in a couple of years biking around with his friends, becoming more independent – but also I’m nervous about having less “control” over his actions. I guess all we can do is teach him about not talking to strangers and making safe choices for himself. I don’t want him to grow up in fear of bad things can happen, and I don’t want to drive myself crazy over it either. But how do you handle it?

So tonight I’m going to give Alex an extra big hug, and I will say a prayer for little Tori and all the other children who are the innocent victims of such evil. 

7 responses

  1. Oh mercy- I get it. I have crumpled into sobs at the thought of exactly what you just wrote. All we can do is the best we know how…

  2. oh man…i totally have chills. so scary. it’s such a fine line to try and teach children to be aware but not afraid all the time…

  3. So scary. I’m the “worry” kind of Mama…even about little things. This sort of thing makes me sick and scared. I checked out a book from the library called Free Range Kids, but don’t feel ready to read it. I think 3.5 is a bit young to let kids be more “free range” (D’s age now), but I suspect the book is aimed at when they get a little older…and letting them have some freedom without worrying about every little thing. Somehow…stories like this case you mention will make it even harder for all of us to allow our children to be somewhat “free.”

Leave a Reply

