Tuesday Tidbits

I must apologize! I didn’t provide an update on my “procedure”. All was good – and they don’t believe the endo has traveled into my bowel – yeah! And like some of you shared, the procedure is really nothing. The prep is quite uncomfortable, but that is the worst of it.  They put you under, you wake up less than half an hour later and you can’t tell anything has happened.  So if you have to have one – don’t fret. Just drink the juice and rest for a few days. So now on to laser lap #4 on June 21.

Alex has been providing a lot of random hugs recently – that makes my heart swell.  Often the hugs come when we are playing mini sticks. If I score a goal on him, he runs to me, cheering, and then gives me a big hug.

It’s started. Holes have started to appear in the knees of Alex’s pants.  He is often quit rough playing hockey, taking dives etc; and he likes to play football, wrestle and the like, causing the knees to wear out of his pants.  3 pairs in the last month.  I need to go get some patches I think…

Alex is also displaying some real signs of being an only child.  He is being bossy and demanding – we are working on it.

I’m reading “The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner” by Stephenie Meyer – it’s the novella that goes with the Twilight books.  Not too bad. I finished reading the Art of Racing in the Rain – a great read – emotional, but not really about the dog passing (don’t worry – its in the first chapter so I’m not spoiling anything), I didn’t end up reading We Need to Talk About Kevin… it wasn’t the writing style that I like.

Yesterday I finished Season 1 of Downton Abbey. You are all so right – highly addictive. Such a good show. The only problem is that I’m #18 on the hold list for Season 2… that’s probably a 2 month wait. Think I’ll be visiting the rental store this weekend.  I also watched Life in a Day – the video made up of videos from around the world all filmed on July 24, 2010.  How amazing! I laughed, cried, cringed… but was overall moved by the simplicity of the film and the message about how even though your day may not seem like anything important is going on it really is making an impact.

And for those who are in love with food tucks… on May 6 there is a Food Truck event in Stratford!!  If you are interested in information on the festival let me know – or search Savour Stratford Food Trucks on Facebook.

9 responses

  1. Definitely get to a video rental store (or purchase it through iTunes — it wasn’t that expensive and seeing that I’ve watched each season two or three times, it was definitely worth it).

    Adam didn’t start destroying clothes till he started school: huge tears in his pants from falling, worn-through knees and grass- and paint-stained everything. I started buying less “nice” stuff for him because I couldn’t bear to see the good stuff ruined.

  2. Oh yes, completely addictive that Downton Abbey! Ugh. The pants… I so hear you. We now have two levels of clothing here as well… which drives this Mamarazzi crazy. The cheap stuff isn’t always what I want to capture! 😉 I’ll have to check out that Meyer novella!

  3. Okay, here’s what my mom did for my brothers (they were HUGE mini stick hockey players and always wore out he knees in their pants): she took heavy duty work socks, and cut out the feet, so they could pull them up over their knees 🙂 . Glad to hear all was fine with your procedure and good luck with lap #4!

  4. Love, love, love Downton Abbey.

    Camden didn’t seem to go through pants too quickly at Alex’s age although now that he’s 8.5 we see alot more holes in his pants. I can remember my poor mom desperately trying to keep my brother in holeless pants.

  5. I’m so glad the procedure showed that your colon is clear of the endo – that will make the next step a bit easier, I imagine. I’m sorry that you have to have that laparoscopy again, though! Bummer.

  6. So glad to hear that the colonoscopy wasn’t too painful and the results were positive! I haven’t had a chance to watch Downton Abbey but so many people have raved about it, so I guess I need to make it a priority!! Just recently I’ve noticed that Daniel’s knees are getting grass stains and I’m realizing that ripped out knees are probably next! Ugh!

  7. so glad everything went well!
    and i MUST get into DA…waiting til summer when i have some extra free time 🙂
    btw, i keep trying to post on the pedicure a la alex post, but it won’t let me…here’s what i wanted to say: that whole thing is just too many kinds of awesome 😉

Leave a Reply

