Tuesday Tidbits

  • The weather here is back to being traditional spring after an extreme warm spell in mid March. The forecast was looking really nice today (high of 14), so I sent Alex to the sitters with a hoodie and a lined spring coat – but it is pretty dismal outside now – and not nice and sunny as expected. I hope he is warm enough #mommyfail
  • I’m at home prepping for my colonoscopy tomorrow. I haven’t been able to ingest anything but clear fluids since yesterday at 6am. Let’s just say this sucks. I am dreaming of my post procedure meal… all day long.  I understand being on a liquid diet for 24 hours before… but this is crazy!
  • Since I’m at home with lots of time on my hands, I’m watching Breaking Dawn Part 1… for the 3rd time. I don’t care what anyone says – this series rocks.
  • I played around with my book lineup – I ended up reading I’ve Got Your Number first [fantastic!!], now I’m reading The Art of Racing in the Rain… next will be We Have to Talk About Kevin.
  • I saw the Hunger Games a week or so ago – FANTASTIC! Really lived up to the book – which is so hard to do.
  • I’m planning Alex’s 4th birthday party! Superhero themed, planning on making capes, magic wands, and maybe masks.  Don’t know when I’ll do it all… I really should have bought fabric and did it today. A will be 4 in less than a month – amazing.
  • Alex is having fun calling Matt “Matthew” 🙂 
  • Last Thursday I had the day off so I kept Alex from the sitters and we had a date at the Butterfly Conservatory in Cambridge. We had a lot of fun – we saw butterflies, birds, ladybugs, turtles, and even a butterfly climb out of it’s cocoon! And the funny thing was that when we first walked in I saw a cute little Korean boy about Alex’s age walk by. I couldn’t see the mom from the front – but did a while later – and it was the mom who came to talk to us at AdopTalk back in October 2008!  Small world.   After we went to McDonalds and we then did a little shopping.
  • On Saturday I took Alex on a horse drawn carriage ride around downtown Stratford. I could not believe how much I didn’t know about our small town. Alex was a trooper – 1 hour+ waiting… and I rewarded him with a chocolate milk shake. 
  • I’ve been having fun participating in my friend Kerryanne’s photo a day for April blog. I wish I had done it every day… but I did not too badly. Check out the amazing pictures from around the world. 
8 responses

  1. Haven’t had the “pleasure” of undergoing a colonoscopy yet; I don’t know how I would survive on clear liquids that long! Maybe I should make the time to watch breaking dawn the third time 🙂 . I’m getting tired of waiting for my friend to see hunger games, so I think I’ll drag Jeremy along . . .

  2. Good luck with the colonoscopy tomorrow. I imagine you’re feeling rather weak. Soon it will be over! I still have to watch Hunger Games. Very excited for it! I must recommend Under the Hawthorn Tree as a great read. Glad I picked it up. Sounds like you’ve had lots of fun with Alex. And his birthday party will be awesome. I have to start planning D’s ASAP!!

  3. Sounds like you’ve got some good, fun stuff going on… aside from that pesky colonoscopy! I hope it goes well and that you’re enjoying your special post-procedure meal very soon!

  4. I hope your test goes (or went) well today. I’ve heard the prep is worse than the test…but I cannot personally weigh in on this one…yet. I LOVE that you took a horse-drawn carriage ride around town with Alex. Great idea! Glad he did so well.

  5. Ugh, ugh, ugh on that colonoscopy! I haven’t actually had one, but I have had to do all the prep and it just sucks!

    I agree about the Hunger Games – definitely lived up to the book and that doesn’t happen often.

  6. I hope you have recovered well from your colonoscopy! What a way to clear out your system leading up to the procedure. You are going to have a great birthday party! I still need to watch the Twilight movies. I read all the books, but I have a husband who is not too interested in watching them with me. What great dates with Alex. We’ve been to the Butterfly Conservatory in Niagara Falls, and it is amazing to see so many butterflies in one place. Was there a special event that the horse and carriage rides were happening in Stratford, or is that a normal occurrence in your town?

Leave a Reply

