Books on my Bedside Table

I’ve been reading all sorts of things recently – but as always – mainly fiction.  Some fiction titles as you know can be a little more stressful than others…

I’m afraid that the book I’m going to be starting tonight will be like that:

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
It a ” thriller and close study of maternal ambivalence, and the role it might have played in the title character’s decision to murder nine people at his high school”… Let’s hope I make it through this one!

But also on my table is a few fun things:

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella
I’ve heard this is her best book yet – so I’m really looking forward to it.

 The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein
A family saga through the eyes of a dog – how great is that?!

I’ve also been listening to a series in audiobook format while I’m at work – it’s the way I get a lot of my Young Adult fiction in. I’m on book 2 in the I am Number Four series by Pittacus Lore. Book 2 is The Power of Six. I must admit – book 1 was really good – book 2… not as much – but I’m waiting to finish it before I draw my final conclusions.

So… what’s on your bookshelf?

9 responses

  1. Art of Racing in the Rain? Get your kleenex out my friend! That book almost killed me. I just finished 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami (surreal, wacky, 1000 pages but compelling!) and now I’m on to Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. So far, so good. Bekah recommended it and we have very similar taste. I’m also reading A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg.

  2. I’ve already put the Sophie Kinsella book on hold at the library. Glad to hear it’s a good one! Right now I just finished a really quick read that caught my eye at the library – “Julia’s Child” by Sarah Pinneo…cute concept and kept me interested. I still have to finish “I Don’t Know How She Does It”…kinda lost me in the middle. The other book that I have out is Under the Hawthorn Tree by Ai Mi. I’ve heard it’s very good. I just have to actually sit down and read it! I love these posts of yours. Eager to hear your thoughts on “We Need to Talk about Kevin” before I read it!!

  3. Started and finished the new Sophie Kinsella book last week – LOVED it. Made me laugh alot. Started and finished Divurgent this week and also loved it. Have you read that one yet? I think the sequel is coming out soon.

  4. Nice! I always love knowing what people are reading. I was looking at my stack of books on my nightstand the other night and thinking I should do a “ON MY NIGHTSTAND” post like I used to do on my blog MUCH more often.

Leave a Reply

