Oh the fun never ends…

Warning… may be a little TMI… but hey – this is life.

Over the last few months I’ve found that my endo has been rearing it’s ugly head again. I have more discomfort mid month and then at the beginning of each cycle, I’ve been in so much pain that I can’t work. I try to take pain killers, but they affect me so much that I really shouldn’t drive. In all it is really just 2-3 days a month where I notice any pain  – not bad considering how disabling this condition really can be. I just don’t want to be in pain for the next 15+ years.  So I’ve been seeing a new Dr about my options. 

I went into my first appointment with the idea of having some relatively drastic surgery (ovaries removed if not a full hysterectomy), but once there I just couldn’t do it. I’m only 35 – and can’t imagine being in menopause for the rest of my life.  Instead we decided on a 3 month Lupr*n treatment (thankfully it will be during the spring and not in the heat of the summer) – I was on it for 6 months back in 2008 – so 3 isn’t too bad.  Once the drug has done its job, I’ll be having a laser laparoscopy which will allow for the doc to hopefully “clean me up”.  But to add to the fun, I have to go for another procedure before the surgery to ensure the endo hasn’t reached my bowels.  If it has… then it will be a different ball game.

The goal of the surgery is to reduce the pain for a few years. Then when I hit my 40’s I can reassess the situation.

Here’s hoping and praying the next few months are not all that terrible. We have to go ceiling fan shopping this week. The hot flashes will be here before I know it.

 

16 responses

  1. i was just thinking about you today and when you were told not to eat anything stored in plastic because of the extra estrogen. ugh. i’m sorry you are having to go through this. i’ve never been diagnosed with endo, but my last obgyn has a strong sense that i do have a low amount. i can’t imagine how debilitating your pain is, when i feel like my pain is off the charts every month. keep us posted how things are going. sending happy pain free thoughts and prayers.

  2. Oh Krista, that sounds so painful to go through. I’m so sorry you have to deal with this. I hope the meds help bring some relief and not too much heat! Thinking about you.

  3. I hate that you have to deal with all of this, Krista. 😦 As a fellow gal with issues, being a woman just ain’t fun sometimes. I hope everything turns out ok with the colonoscopy as well. If you have yet to have one, I will say when they put me under it was some of the best sleep I think I have ever had. 😉

  4. That does not sound fun at all! I am so sorry you have to deal with it. I will say that I’m 36 and in menopause because of my hysterectomy, and it’s really not bad. Maybe it’s just masked by all the chemo symptoms but I don’t have much that I can pin point directly at menopause. Maybe I’ve just got it easy!

  5. Oh, that sounds awful. I’d considered getting a partial hysterectomy a few years ago because of debilitating cramps. Now I’m down to only a day or two per 24-day cycle of really bad cramps, which I can mostly live with (at its worst, my cycles were 14-16 days long, so I was out of commission for four or five days a month).

    Hope the new treatment is successful.

  6. This sounds simply terrible, Krista. I’m so sorry you’re having to deal with this. Being a woman truly sucks sometimes, doesn’t it? I hope the Lupron and the laproscopy do the trick and give you several more years with all of your female parts, and most importantly, I hope they bring you relief!

  7. Yuck. I hope the Lupron is successful enough to alleviate your pain. I with you on not being ready for major surgury. My doctor is encouraging me to get genetic testing done since my mom and aunt had/have breast cancer. If I test positive, she thinks I should be proactive and remove breasts and ovaries, but I can’t imagine doing it.

  8. Oh girl…I’m so sorry you have to deal with issues like this. I will be saying prayers that this procedure really helps and you don’t have to go through anything drastic! Btw..been there done that on the whole colonoscopy…hopefully, they will put you under and the whole thing will be over quickly! Xo!

  9. I’m so sorry to hear that your endo has been getting bad again. I’ve never had to take Lupr*n before. It doesn’t sound pleasant but if it helps you feel better, it’s worth taking.I’m also sorry that you have to have a colonoscopy. Ugh. I’ve often wondered if my endo got into my bowels. There is a decent article about endo in the most recent Chatelaine. Check it out. What a nasty disease. I hope you find some relief after this treatment plan.

  10. Good for you for being proactive and going to see a new doctor. I hope the Lupron injections can help to stem the endo growth and give you some relief for a few months. All the best with the colonoscopy- I’ve heard it does a great job of cleaning out your system. I hope and pray that the endo has not gotten into your bowels, and that you’ll be able to have the laparoscopy in a few months. I have had two of them and they weren’t too bad, but surgery is never fun.

  11. oh boy…big hugs to you. i’m so sorry that you are in such pain and discomfort! praying this treatment works well and that you start feeling better soon. and i hope a certain three year-old is giving you lots of extra hugs and kisses!

  12. Oh my goodness…I’m so sorry (and sorry to be so late on commenting here).
    I had surgery for something else about 4 yrs ago…and they found a WHOLE MESS of endometriosis in there (wrapped around everything…kind of amazing everything worked in there in terms of other organs, etc…). The surgeon came out and said he was surprised to find all that in there…not really something wants to hear from your MD. I hope the medication helps. Sometimes this whold being a girl things REALLY sucks.

Leave a Reply

