Tuesday Tidbits

Finally! I’m getting this done on a Tuesday!

  • Today Alex went to the Mall… to meet the big guy! He was soooo good! Luckily there was no line up. He got to hop up on Santa’s lap and he nicely told Santa that he wanted a “motor boat ride” and a “motorcycle”.  Well… we will see about that one! No tears, no screams like last year… but also no decent pictures. I didn’t check what settings I had going on and just started to take pictures… and well… they sucked. The first few were not clear super clear because I didn’t have my flash one. When I turned my flash on, they were way overexposed and not salvageable at all. So bummed. I guess we will just have to go back!
  • Really not even close to being done holiday shopping. I thought I would be by now, but after the whole weekend excitement, I just didn’t have the energy or the desire to go out.   I think I will have to hit the late night store hours.
  • I finished Crossed by Ally Condie… and don’t hate me, but I wasn’t in love with it like I had hoped I would be. I guess I will have to see how book 3 goes!
  • Our basement is 98% done! We are just waiting on our mantle to be made and installed. We’ve been told by the end of next week. Finger’s crossed!  In the mean time, we are truly enjoying the new leather recliners. One thing we have discovered though is that blu-ray players don’t seem to play all DVDs like they technically should. We purchased a new player since our DVD player was over 10 yrs old and not 100% reliable itself. But we couldn’t even play a brand new Li*n King on the blu-ray. Not impressed.
  • On Saturday night we had a “Progressive Dinner” with 3 other couples in our neighborhood. Lots of great food, lots of good laughs and I tried to take lots of good pics… but sadly as the night wore on, and the wine bottle grew low, the pictures got more and more fuzzy.
  • I’m making a New Year’s resolution early – In 2012 I’m signing up for a camera class! Enough’s enough with my crappy camera work.
  • Alex is still a dancing maniac. But he will only dance to “Black and White” – aka “Black and Yellow” … apologies for the language…
  • Today we finally got some snow! It was a really beautiful drive to work – almost like driving through a black and white picture – gorgeous.  It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

 

8 responses

  1. Right there with you in terms of a camera class. What kind of class are you thinking? Yay for almost being done your basement! It’s a great time of year to have that extra space. Good luck getting your shopping done!I went to the mall at lunch today and it was crazy- on a Tuesday! Ugh! I live the idea if a progressive dinner with your neighbors.

  2. Gallery Stratford offers a great photography course (taught by Terry Manzo)…. good for learning about composition (and how to use the functions of your camera). Henry’s (London, KW, etc.) offers mini-courses on how to use your camera (geared towards specific models)… assuming you have a DSLR. Good luck!

  3. It is so frustrating when you think you’re getting great pics, just to find out your settings are off! I’ve taken two classes, but still manage to mess up sometimes :). I am still shopping too; I think I get ahead, and then I find out I need to exchange everything 😦

  4. A photography class sounds GREAT. I would love to do that also.
    YAY for Alex doing so well with Santa. D hasn’t been yet…but we plan to visit soon.
    I’m almost done with shopping…just a few more little stocking stuffers for my DH and then I’m done. I made a LOT of progress this morning…when D went to my parents’ home and I shopped solo. Much more productive than with a 3-yr-old in tow.

  5. What a bummer when your camera is on the wrong settings and you get all excited to see them only to find out they stink! Ugh! How exciting that your basement is going to be done soon!! Is there any way you can shop online for some things? I’ve done half my shopping online and half in the stores. Saves me time. Have a great weekend! 🙂

  6. Oh, a progressive dinner sounds so fun!

    And I wasn’t a big fan of Crossed either. I didn’t like it nearly as much as Matched.

    Hey, I have photography class recommendations if you want them. Email me. 🙂

  7. I didn’t love Crossed either. I was actually mad at the end of the book, and even angrier when I realized it took place in like a week. So unrealistic!! Take Melissa’s suggestions. Seriously. TAKE. THEM.

    Now… don’t you hate me, but I’m done. Shopped, wrapped, all of it. Running and hiding now…

  8. What a great idea to do a progressive dinner with your neighbours. We’ve done one with our church before, but no wine was involved! I think that would make it even more fun. (: I’m sure you must be enjoying your finished basement, and the fruits of all your labours to get it ready. More room for toys and running around!

Leave a Reply

