Scary Night

On Friday night we had a night I never want to experience again.

After I picked Alex up from the sitters, he was pretty whiny, had a cough, and had a slight fever. I gave him some cold meds, but didn’t realize that it was not the type that reduced fevers.  His fever was just under 39C (102).  After dinner, which he didn’t touch, we were cuddling on my bed with a cool cloth on his head, watching cartoons when he made some weird breathing noises and then his eyes rolled in various directions and he was unresponsive. I couldn’t believe what was happening. I yelled for Matt saying that something was wrong with Alex and he came running.  I was so happy that he had not yet left for hockey.  We grabbed Alex and drove as quickly as we could to the ER.  On the way there Alex came to… and he got sick on Matt.  Luckily the ER wasn’t busy and Alex was given priority. Turns out he had a Febrile Seizure due to his fever. It wasn’t necessarily because the fever was overly high, but probably because it spiked quickly.  Eventually Alex was given some Tylenol (Note: if this ever happens to you – be sure to bring the medicine you gave to your child with you to the hospital – we had to get Matt’s mom to drive over and search the house for the box) and Alex had a urine test to rule out infection.  While at the hospital he cried and screamed most of the time – he was so exhausted and scared. It was truly heartbreaking.  The Doctor told us this type of seizure is relatively common with young kids and normally a child will grow out of it by the time they are 3, so hopefully this was the only and last seizure Alex ever experiences.   We got Alex home he slept soundly until 7am. When he work up – he had no fever and lots of energy. Just like nothing had even happened. Children are truly amazing creatures.

12 responses

  1. WOW!!! This is so much scarier than I surmised from your FB post! I’m so glad he’s ok. And while he may have had energy the next day, I’m sure you were both plenty exhausted!

  2. So scary!! I guess we’ve had similar experiences this past week! I know a couple of kids who have had febrile seizures once and never again. My younger sister had one as a toddler. I still remember how freaky it was. I’m so glad to hear that Alex woke up back to normal.

  3. Wow, that is definitely scary! You are probably so glad that you were sitting with him when it happened. My little sister had a febrile seizure when she was just a baby. We had just left the hospital from visiting my grandmother when it happened in the car. They turned around and raced back to the hospital. Scary! I’m glad that Alex is doing better now. I’m sure it was exhausting for him at the hospital.

  4. Oh my goodness! WAYYYY scary! D used to spike insanely high temps when he’d get sick (the worst was 105.6). I was so scared he was going to have a seizure…we dashed to the emergency room too…but thank goodness he did not. Oh my…I am so sorry you had to go through that. Incredibly scary. I’m glad he is doing better.

  5. Yes, I agree with CCL, your FB status didn’t make give us too much detail and boy, you handled it well. So sorry and so scary. So thankful that Matt was still around because I am guessing you would have been a mess driving to the ER by yourself or at least I would have been. Glad Alex is himself again and yes, these kids are so so resilient.

  6. OMG, that is so scary!!! I’m glad everything is OK. Kids are amazing. I have heard that febrile seizures are somewhat common and not dangerous but if you see your kid going through one, it must be so freaky.

Leave a Reply

