Tuesday Tidbits

I’ve been so happy to get back in a routine these last 2 weeks. Alex is going to the sitters daily again and Matt’s back to work.  I’ve been trying to get up about 15min earlier than everyone else to give me a few minutes alone to actually wake up and settled before the morning madness begins. I find it really helps in putting me in a better mood… Eventually I plan on waking up about 45 min early so I can go for a nice walk with Mason first thing… but little steps, little steps.

Fall and Summer are duking it out around here. One day it is hot (like 40C with the humidity) and the next it’s not… tonight it will be a chilly 8C overnight… gotta break out the long johns. The one nice thing is that the leaves will start to really change… must book a photographer… would love some family pics done this year (another thing for my ever growing to do list).

Last weekend we headed down to the Upper Queens park for a playdate with Henry, Alex’s besty. When we arrived, we noticed two boys we know were also there – and they too have been adopted from Korea. It was so sweet. They treated Alex and his friend like little brothers – teaching them new games and racing around the park. It didn’t matter that Alex is just 3 and they are 7 & 9 (I think) – they are truly good kids and I think they will be great friends for Alex to look up to.

Alex has been really enjoying the last batch of books I brought home:
I Love My White Shoes by Eric Litwin (finally read it!!), I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean by Kevin Sherry, My Mommy Hung the Moon by Jamie Lee Curtis (a fav of mine too) and Charlie the Ranch Dog by Ree Drummond (The Pioneer Woman).

Things are really coming together for the craft show (yeah!) – just under 3 weeks away – so nervous and excited at the same time.

I have been putting together some crafting / storytime sites for some of our library programmers and thought I’d share some favs – they can be used on a personal level for sure.: No Time for Flashcards, Storytime Secrets, Roving Fiddlehead.

I’m trying to finally get things up on the walls in our house (we only moved a 18 montyhs ago…) My problem is that I can’t decide on anything… very frustrating. Anyone want to come help 😉

I feel like a bad momma of a Korean child… I forgot about Cheusok… When the waves of weekend madness calm down, I plan on cooking up a feast… so, probably won’t happen until mid October – the weekend after Canadian Thanksgiving. I am praying A’s hanbok still fits.

7 responses

  1. We have had wacky (and wet) weather here too. The kids’ closets are bursting with both their summer and fall clothes. Good luck with your craft show and thanks for more book suggestions! I really like ‘No time for flashcards’ website and I’m going to try and do some crafts with X soon. I am a bad Korean mommy too – I was expecting Cheusok a little closer to October!!

  2. I get up early too – I am in a MUCH better mood even though I’m up earlier than I’d like to be.

    We’re headed to a Korean restaurant Saturday, which is our version of celebrating.

  3. I was so bad with Chuseok this year– totally didn’t expect it so early! We will have to do our own celebration at a later date. The weather has definitely been strange around here– difficult to know what to wear every day! How great that Alex has older Korean adopted boys he can look up to. All the best in your last weeks to the craft show. I hope it goes smoothly for you and that you get lots of people to come.
    I sure would if I lived closer.

  4. The weather around here has been killing me too – I’m just ready for fall already! Can’t wait to hear about your craft show – try to post a pic!

    ps – I started getting up crazy early so that I could have a head start to myself and I can’t get over what a great change it has been. We all need that quiet time before the day starts!

  5. The weather is driving me BONKERS! GAUGH! We’re in the process of putting “our” artwork back up on the walls now that we have taken the house off the market. It feels good. And I’m a pro now. Maybe I should come visit!? 😉

    And I try so hard to get up early but spencer *always* beats my alarm clock… so jealous!

    Chuseok here was a non-event here this year… I couldn’t wrap my head around it falling so close to the 9-11 memorials. So we’re celebrating late too.

  6. I love alone time in the morning too. Eventually, once Matthew gets on a schedule, I hope to have a little bit of time to sip my coffee and read blogs in the morning before the boys are up. I can’t believe your craft show is only 3 weeks away, but I guess it coincides with Thanksgiving, which is also that close. Crazy! I’m sure it will go well. And we totally missed Chuseok too. Actually, I knew it was happening, but there was just too much going on with back to school. We’ll have a later celebration of our own too.

  7. I LOVE that you included some books you’ve enjoyed with Alex. We’ve read a couple of those, but I put two of them on hold at our library. THANKS!

    We didn’t do much for Chuseok either this year…it fell so close to our family day and a birthday party…both of which were at a favorite Korean restaurant. D was in a MOOD that day too…so I didn’t dare get out the Hanbok. Maybe soon…some nice Fall outdoor shots would be fun!

Leave a Reply

