Books On My Nightstand

Yes, I’m still here – just absent from the blogging world longer than I wish – but that’s life with a 3 year old! It’s busy! And after working on a computer all day, often the last thing I want to do at night is to hang out on my computer yet again. I am more often hanging out with a bag of chips and a glass of wine on the couch watching “How I Met Your Mother” or “Big Bang Theory”.

The one thing I still continue to do everything however is read. Books help me relax, and this working momma needs that.  I don’t read as much as I used to, but I still ensure I get a few minutes each night.   I am currently reading “Fear The Worst” by Linwood Barclay – I’m not far enough in it is tell if I’m going to enjoy it yet or not.

Recently I have read:

“The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo” and “The Girl that Played with Fire”, both by Steig Larsson. I thought they were great!! They were (for the most part) fast paced and kept my attention – which caused me to stay up way too late more than once.  I’m going to be starting “The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest” shortly. I can’t wait to see how the trilogy ends.

The book I just finished was “Secret Daughter” by Shilpi Somaya Gowda. This book was one of the best I’ve read in a long time.  It is about a three women – one in India, and one in California, and the daughter shared between the two.  One of the reviews on Amazon described the book perfectly – “On the surface, this is the story of a child born in terrible circumstances, the twist of fate that changes her life, and her adolescent search for self that creates ripples with the people who surround her. Yet there are many more layers to this novel. There is great complexity in the relationships between parent and child, and husband and wife, making them both realistic and heartbreaking. There are the questions of class, education, gender and culture in our globalized society, so beautifully illustrated through two seemingly opposite families. The characters are imperfect, but they all learn and grow through their experiences”

I personally felt that Gowda was able to accurately describe many of the emotions with adoption – through many different view points.  The emotions of infertility, the pain of making the best possible choice for your baby, the feelings of being adopted, the fears of an adoptive mom, and the strength of a mother’s love.   At times I thought she was reading my mind. For that reason alone, I would love my friends to read this book – so they may understand some of the feelings I have had in the past – and may have in the future.  Well, that reason and the fact that it is  compelling, well paced, and a great story.  One of the lines that I feel really resonates is “the family you create is more important than the one you’re born into.” How very true.  If you are going to read this book – have some tissues handy – it’s at times a real tear jerker.

I was actually just trying to find my last book blog post – and it was in November.  November! Yikes! Other good books I’ve read since then included:

Baby, We Were Meant for Each Other” by Scott Simon (4 out of 5)
Little Bee” by Chris Cleave (4 out of 5)
Room” by Emma Donoghue (5 out of 5) – if you click on the link, be sure to watch the book trailer.
The Help” by Kathryn Stockett (5 out of 5)

So what are you reading? Any good suggestions? One I’m interested in is “Little Princes“.

10 responses

  1. I feel like I must be the only person to not like Stieg Larsson’s books – I struggled to make it through the first two, started the third and just didn’t finish it (which never happens). I also read Room and thought it interesting, and I loved The Help. I’ve got Divergent by Veronica Roth on my nightstand waiting. You’ve read The Hunger Games, right? Divergent is supposed to be reminiscent of that series (and a very easy read).

  2. Thanks for the book recommendations!
    I just finished Caught by Harlan Coben and I loved all the twists and turns. I’m also on a kid fiction run and I’m working my way through the Percy Jackson series and the last two Diary of a Wimpy Kid books 🙂

  3. I guess I should tell Melissa she’s not alone!? I didn’t enjoy that trilogy either. I actually put #2 down and didn’t pick it back up. And sadly, I don’t have any recommendations cause I’m not finding the time to read right now…

  4. thanks for this post! i’m looking for some new reads for the summer — yay!
    and, after i read this, i reserved the girl with the dragon tattoo — this will be my second attempt (i couldn’t get past the first 100 pages!), but after christine’s and melissa’s i’m a little less gung ho now!
    i loooved the help and also enjoyed little bee. i’ve got melissa’s suggestion down, too, now — absolutely loved the hunger games and canNOT wait for the movie!

  5. I really enjoyed the Stieg Larsson trilogy myself, although I wouldn’t call them great works of literature – just fascinating stories that kept ME up too late too 🙂 I LOVED Little Bee, too, which led me to read his other book, Incendiary (pretty interesting). I’d also recommend anything by Chang Rae Lee – he’s an awesome writer. Also quite good was Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Let’s just say I did NOT see where that was going … I am now, finally, reading The Help, which I’m enjoying so far. I have to recommend Unbroken – not my type of book, usually, but it was SO GOOD, an amazing true story. I also just read Life of Pi and enjoyed that, too. Thanks for the Secret Daughter recommendation, I’m putting it on my list now!

  6. Wow, I’m impressed that you can find the time to read all those books! I find it so difficult to find the time to pick up a book, though I love to get a good book. The only problem is that it consumes me! I just had to write, Switch– How to Change When Change is Hard, a non-fiction book, but it was pretty interesting. Thanks for the recommendations. Secret Daughter sounds really interesting. I’d like to read the Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls. My Mom is currently reading it and said it is riveting.

  7. I always love your book sharing posts! While I’m certainly not reading as much as I’d like these days, if I pick up a book that’s captivating from the very beginning, I’ll find the time to read! It’s funny that you talk about Larsson’s trilogy because I just got The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo out of the library. Everyone is talking about how good it is, but I have to get past the second page. It’s not my usual genre, but I’m going to give it a shot! I’m also going to put Secret Daughter and The Help on hold at my library…and maybe those other titles too. Summer reading!! Oh, and I love how you mention watching Big Bang Theory and How I Met Your Mother, because those are our go-to reruns these days too!
    I saw Linwood Barclay speak at our local author series, and he was hilarious! How are you finding his book. That’s not his newest one, but he has written quite a few. I think my mom liked the book of his that she read.
    And finally (longest comment ever!), I’ve read two fun chick lit books lately – both by Karen Quinn – The Ivy Chronicles and The Sister Diaries. Both are easy to read, funny, and enjoyable.

  8. I always love your on-the-nightstand posts. (I also have not done one myself in AGES!) I really want to read SECRET DAUGHTER after reading what you had to say. I loved THE HELP and CUTTING FOR STONE. Right now I’m reading BEL CANTO. I also *must* read for a little while every night before going to bed…or else it seems to take me twice as long to fall asleep. I just don’t read as long as I used to…because I fall asleep after only 15 min or so. Older working momma + very busy toddler = WAY tired some nights.

Leave a Reply

