Oobleck

On Saturday I took out the library a number of books on science type activities for toddlers.  I have been wanting to expand on the activities we do with Alex with some educational type projects.  While browsing Sandbox Scientist by Michael E. Ross, I found a cool project that we had done before, although I didn’t realize its official name of oobleck.  If you haven’t made oobleck before, I’ll warn you – it’s messy – but it is fun and well worth the mess! 

The science part of this project is that it encourages kids to explore the differences between liquids and solids.

To make oobleck, simply get a large bowl or a tray, and mix a cup of water to a cup of cornstarch. You can add food colouring if you like – but to me that makes it much messier.  You mix them so that you get a mixture that is both dry and liquid all at once.  Stick your hands in, grab a handful, which will feel solid, and then watch it drip from your hands – such a cool feeling! 

I highly recommend doing this outside if possible, or on a vinyl tablecloth like we did.  I wish I had pics… but I was having too much fun getting messy as well! Here is a flashback picture of Alex with his first oobleck experience.

Note: while it was messy, it wasn't nearly as messy this time around.

19 responses

  1. I remember that photo. Did Alex get it on his face/mouth this time?
    I’m thinking summertime in the driveway might be great for this (I think I’d have a stroke in the house…yes…my issues).

  2. COOL! will have to keep this in mind…the 6th graders in our district make oobleck as part of their science curriculum and have to talk about the properties of liquids and solids and make arguments to support what oobleck is. even big kids love it!

  3. Great experiment to try. I think we will wait until we can do this outside. That being said, I think Ben would love it, but Adam would be too grossed out, and wouldn’t want to get himself dirty. Really, my boys are the total opposites!!

  4. I totally remember that photo from the original experience!!! We did oobleck/goop in the fall and I’m still traumatized. (And still finding it on the walls and ceiling.) I think outside is the way to go…

  5. I remember that photo too! What a fun idea to do it this past weekend. I need to do some stuff like that with Daniel, because he would really love it. I do think we’ll probably have to try oobleck outside though. 🙂

  6. Signing up a customer is so simple as sending them
    to the landing web page you host our white label platform on. You’ll use your individual domain, so nobody
    will know you are outsourcing the service.

  7. In this construction, a separate firm, often called a special objective financing vehicle (SPV), is established, typically by the owner of the reference credit, and it
    issues debt securities whose funds are linked to the credit score quality
    of a reference credit.

Leave a Reply

