It’s a new year…

…time for a new start.  I love the idea of starting fresh in a new year. Whether you call them resolutions, goals, or my new favourite improvements, they really are just a personal jolt to realign yourself… to try to make yourself a better person. 

On New Year’s Eve I sat down and jotted down a few improvements (C, hope you don’t mind me using your term!) for myself.  I think if I broadcast them across the blogosphere, I may have a better chance at keeping them (like last year right – ha!!)

  1. Pick up the phone. 
    I’m someone who would rather send a quick email when I need to contact a friend rather thank pick up the phone and make a phone call. Just easier I guess.  Especially with kids bed times spread out through the night, it can be hard when to judge the right time to call someone. But not all my friends are online all day long like I am, so I’m going to try to call them much more often and reconnect.
  2. Learn how to use my camera
    Now that I have a DSLR, I need to figure out what aperture, ISO, etc all really mean – and how to set the settings so that my pictures turn out.  So hopefully I can pick up a class or two (mommy time!), and if all else fails, master Photoshop.
  3. Get back in the craft room
    It’s been a while since I’ve crafted or sewed, and I really miss it.  I miss how much relaxing it was, and it gave me a real sense of accomplishment when a project was completed.  So once our basement is finished (by this summer, fingers crossed), I will be creating a craft studio (as Matt is calling it) in our bonus room above the garage.  Can’t wait! 
  4. Smile more
    2010 was a hard year for me.  Back in May, we made a very hard decision, and to be honest, I haven’t dealt with it very well.  I’ve been pretty sad.  I need to remember I have an amazing little boy and a wonderful husband – they are my world! Smile, laugh, give hugs… all that good stuff.
  5. Relax
    Whether it is exercising, crafting, reading, drinking a glass of wine, I need to relax… and get to #4.  I think scheduling more regular massage treatments will also help with this.

Hope 2011 is a great year for each and every one of you! You all deserve it!

14 responses

  1. I love your list, especially #4. Not because you haven’t been smiling enough lately, but because you recognize that you haven’t been smiling enough lately, and you want to improve that. I know that feeling well, and I think the other items on your list will definitely help with the smiling more!

  2. this is a great list of improvements – a list that we can all learn from. i can’t wait to see the photos you take this year and to see the wonderfulness that you put together in your craft room!

    and you have a beautiful smile that everyone would benefit seeing more of :).

  3. Great list – don’t feel too bad about your camera. I know what apeture and ISO mean, but I have to take pictures of X so darn fast, it’s hard to set it all up properly first! I’m hoping to fit in a class about my camera soon . . . I have been trying since March!!

  4. I love that you’ve adopted the term improvements as well!

    And I *adore* your list!!! So many great items in here. Most of which I now want to go add to my list! And you know what, I’m going to pour myself a glass of wine… toast you… then deal with the disaster of a house that is making me stress out. Cheers friend!

  5. Great improvements for the year ahead!! I love the last two– so important. I hope that 2011 is an awesome year for your family. We can’t wait to see more of you guys!

  6. what a great list. i hope that 2011 is a much happier year for you with so many smiles that your cheeks start to hurt from smiling so darn much!
    and massages on a regular basis….such a good idea! ahhhhhhhhhhh. 🙂

  7. I hope 2011 brings lots of happiness!
    I love your list and am with you on all points. Except for the crafting, I have learned that crafting won’t happen for me, ever.

  8. Great list! I definitely recommend getting the massages regularly. We have standing appointments with our RMT, because the school board’s coverage is so good. It will also be awesome to have your own craft room. Although I’m not as creative as I’d like to be, I’d love to have my own quiet space where I could go to scrapbook or make “stuff”! All the best to you this year, Krista! Can’t wait to follow along!

  9. Your list is similar to one I have….I’m trying to pick a few things to improve on and stick with them!

    Hugs to you on #4. But I love that you’re choosing to find joy and smile. Thinking of you!

  10. What a great list…and I love that you have it written down…right here. I’m impressed! I have ideas in my head…floating around…areas where I need to or want to improve…but have yet to commit them to paper (or screen).

Leave a Reply

