500 – Seriously?

This is my 500th post! I can’t believe it.  And to celebrate, I will have a little giveaway fun. 

Up for grabs is a book.  One of the most beautiful books you will ever read.  It is called Love You Forever by Robert Munsch.  If you haven’t read this – read it!  Run to the library and borrow it or run to a book store and buy it – or leave a comment below for your chance to win it!  Be sure to have a box of tissues with you for the ending – I’ve read it so many times and my eyes still well up at the end.   

For a chance to win, leave a comment with the name of a book that you find “beautiful” – a book that makes you smile, that makes you cry, that makes you think.  If it’s a picture book, all the better.

I don’t know what I would have done without this forum.  It has allowed me to voice my opinions, share my highs and lows, and connect with others that are going through the exact same things.  As many of you know – our “in person friends”while they can be sympathetic about what we have gone through, they just don’t understand 100% – so connecting with you all has been a saving grace for me.  This is just a little way for me to say Thank you!

20 responses

  1. Holy cow! 500 posts?! That certainly is something to celebrate! and of course we all love a giveaway. 🙂
    I don’t have this book but am thinking I may have read it to my nieces….looks so familiar. One of my favorite books that I read to Noah almost every night is called “I’ll see you in the morning.” I started reading this to him when we started our sleep training a few months ago and I felt like it just ended our night together on such a sweet note and made him feel safe about being by himself. My favorite line is, “i’ll see you in the morning, in the light of the sun, my love!” ahhh, makes my eyes tear up. 🙂

  2. Happy 500th post!! 🙂

    This is one of my fave books of all time. I. LOVE. IT. Hmmm… what book do I consider beautiful? This is tough, I tend to avoid tearjerkers. 🙂 And I don’t think that books about cars or animals classify as beautiful… Right now I’m really into Oliver Jeffers… does that count?!

  3. 500! Wow! That’s crazy! I can’t get over it!
    Lauryn loves this book. Just loves it, we read it at least once a day!
    Great idea to have a give away for your 500th post. I am going to do the same thing at 10,000 visitors to our blog! Have a great day!

  4. Congratulations on 500! I have read that book (when I used to be a young-un and babysat other people’s kids. Of course, I never understood it then like I do now), and it is certainly a heart-tugger!
    A book I consider beautiful… “A Mother for Choco” is sweet, as is “We Belong Together” by Todd Parr. They both have such special meaning for our adoptive family 🙂

  5. oh my dear, i weep when i read this book. i already have a copy or two, but i just had to share my favorite beautiful picture books: i love “God found us you”, “you are special,” “the other side,” “freedom summer,” “ish,” so many!!!
    and, jeepers! 500?! wow!!!

  6. HI! 500 posts! Wow. Great job! I have enjoyed reading every one!
    I love reading this book, but not as much as when my lovely little Nolan says to me each night – “love you forever, love you for always, long as you living my mommy you be” – now that brings tears to my eyes each night when he kisses me goodnight!

  7. Wow, happy 500th post! That is quite a milestone.

    We don’t have a lot of kids/picture books yet, but one I do have that really strikes a nice chord is “Little Miss Spider” by David Kirk. I actually won it in a blog giveaway, but it’s a nice story about how we don’t have to look like our family members to be loved and to be family.

  8. Congratulations on this milestone!

    Jaden calls this book the “potty book” because of the cover photo. That makes me laugh.

    Like Elizabeth “A Mother for Choco” (Keiko Kasza) has always choked me up a bit. I also like “Horace” (Holly Keller) — another book for adoptive families. I purchased both before Jaden even came home and cried a few too many tears to own up to while reading them during the wait.

  9. I LOVE the book “You’re All My Favourites” by Sam McBratney. Fabulous book. Congrats on your 500th post!! If it weren’t for your blog, we would never have meet in “real-life”. I am thankful for our friendship!

  10. Gave this book to my Mum when I was all grown up (like 50 or ??) She loved it too. And now when I miss her so much it means even more especially that last page.
    PAT

  11. Congratulations!!!!

    One of our favorites right now is, ‘You are My I love You’, by Maryann Cusimano. It’s a beautiful bedtime story. But….must say the best book we have is Minh’s life book. Photographs of him, us meeting him and our journey to him, starting with his date of birth.

  12. Happy 500!! That’s awesome. My mom gave me this book a few years ago and it makes me cry every single time I read it. I haven’t read it to Max, yet, but I certainly will some day. We like “Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes.” I’m enjoying reading everyone else’s suggestions though!

  13. My favorite tear-jerker is “I Wished for You: an Adoption Story”. I am trying to read it to Ben to practice telling him his story, but can barely make it past page two before I break out in tears. Therefore I have to make hubby read it so I can sit and sob. I know, I am waaaaaaaay too emotional.

Leave a Reply

