On my bedside table…

This just came over the counter at the library and I think it is a MUST read:

When Did I Get Like This? : The Screamer, the Worrier, the Dinosaur-Chicken-Nugget-Buyer, and Other Mothers I Swore I’d Never Be by Amy Wilson

According to Harper Collins When Did I Get Like This? is the hilarious story of one mother’s struggle to shrug off the ridiculous standards of modern parenting, and remember how to enjoy her children. 

I’ll just add that to my beside table reads… which are as follows:

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this book – the first in a trilogy. 

Twenty-four are forced to enter. Only the winner survives. In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Each year, the districts are forced by the Capitol to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the Hunger Games, a brutal and terrifying fight to the death – televised for all of Panem to see.

Fly Away Home by Jennifer Wiener – A new book from one of my fav Chic Lit authors! If you have seen In Her Shoes with Cameron Diaz, this is the author who wrote that story. 

Written with an irresistible blend of heartbreak and hilarity, Fly Away Home is an unforgettable story of a mother and two daughters who after a lifetime of distance finally learn to find refuge in one another. 

8 responses

  1. The Hunger Games is fabulous – I’ve read both books in the trilogy twice, and can’t wait for the final book to come next week.

    I’ve also read Fly Away Home and it’s really good as well. Keep your kleenex handy. 🙂

  2. Fly Away Home is on my ever-growing to-read list. Loved the Hunger Games series and can’t wait for the final book either! And I haven’t heard of When Did I Get Like This, but it sounds hilarious! Thanks for the suggestions.

  3. I have started Fly Away Home, but had to return it to the library to avoid a late fee. I will be getting it out again to finish. I love Jennifer Weiner’s books. Thanks for the recommendation. I think I want to read When did I get like this? Looks like a good read.

  4. I loved Fly Away Home, which I just read before Matthew was born. I’ve also heard a lot of good things about Hunger Games especially for High school English. A teaching friend keeps telling me to read it, so I probably will now that you’ve also recommended it! One other great nook I read this summer was Winter garden by Kristin Hannah.

Leave a Reply

