Naturalpath update

So I’ve been going to the naturalpath now for 3 weeks for acupuncture and I have yet to see any real results.  But mind you, it hasn’t been time for the intense endo pain yet (give me a few days).  I’m taking my supplements (when I remember) and feel like a bit of a pill popper (12+ a day). Through the sessions, I have learned some interesting things in regards to endometriosis.  One thing is that technically I am not supposed to be drinking coffee or drinking any alcohol.  Ha ha ha!! Yeah right.  I’m down to one cup of coffee a day, so that isn’t bad.  And well, some days I need a glass of wine – and will keep going with that.  Also I shouldn’t be having any fatty meats like bacon or lots of red meat.  Lastly – I was told not to eat anything stored in plastic. So really – I guess I can’t eat anything.  No yogurt, nothing stored in tupperware, no milk in plastic bags, no meat stored in plastic containers, no bread because of the plastic bags… the list goes on.  Why do you ask? I guess the plastic can leach some estrogen into the food, and that excess estrogen can contribute to the growth of endometriosis.

I was also told to rub castor oil on my stomach to reduce the amount of scar tissue – has anyone tried that? I have yet to do it – it’s one of the things I’m sceptical about. 

Honestly – I’m not really sure how much of the above tips I believe in – but I do think the acupuncture is for real.  I feel tingles down my legs and soreness at times during treatments and the naturalpath says that is showing that my che is opening.  Who knows –  but it makes more sense than the excess plastic and estrogen.  

So that’s how it is going. I’m hoping things improve – I have high hopes in the accupunture treatments… so we will see.

13 responses

  1. I saw so many positive results with acupuncture–I hope you do, too! I have read about the dangers of plastic and how the chemicals in it can mimic estrogen. It’s pretty hard to eliminate everything stored in plastic, though! I hope these treatments work for you.

  2. I was told to watch out for anything wrapped in stretch and seal, but that really takes it one step further with any plastic. I guess you better catch your own fish, make your own pasta and pick your veggies and fruits for the rest of your life – yikes!

  3. Best of luck with the acupuncture treatments. Wow, it would be really, really hard to eat anything based on all of the restrictions you were given. Good for you for getting down to one cup of coffee per day!

  4. I’m so happy to read this update. I really hope you have some relief when your painful time arrives. And dang! That is one long list of no-no’s!
    I have no idea what is up with me. I also saw a gastro doc to rule out IBS and because my dad is a colon/rectal cancer survivor….and I’m 41…I’m headed for a colonoscopy in September. Fun, fun! I have stopped drinking soda and I’ve been doing relatively well. Not sure if that is helping or a coincidence?

  5. I hope it helps! Kudos on decreasing the coffee – not an easy feat when you have a little one in the house! I looooove my acupuncturist and I do think it works wonders too. Hopefully it’ll work for you!

  6. Who is your naturopath? I’ve had acupuncture for various things… for some issues, it worked wonders (and for others, not at all). Usually, you can tell after 1-3 sessions if it’s doing anything. My condolences on the coffee & wine!

  7. I’m glad to hear that the accupuncture is working for you. I found that it helped me as well. My Naturopath also recommended a really restrictive diet to help curb my endometriosis (i.e. not eating inflammatory foods such as tomatoes, potatoes, milk products, coffee, etc). It was tough to do, and I managed it for a time. When Adam came home, I gave up because I relied hugely on coffee during those early months, and hated trying to think of innovative things to eat. I hope that you find some relief over the next few months.

  8. I swear by acupuncture! And lately I’ve been taking some herbs (from the acupuncturist) that have totally changed my cycles in a way that my ob/gyn said could only be done via the Pill. I’m a big believer in some of this stuff, even though I don’t understand it. I hope you find some relief soon!

  9. i haven’t had acupuncture in a few years, but i loved it when i did and it worked wonders on my body. i hope it helps for you too!

    i’ve heard similar things about plastic -mostly water bottles – when you really think about it there is a ton of stuff stored in plastic! i do try and buy glass when i can, but sometimes that can be unrealistic!

  10. I really hope this helps you. I have heard wonderful things about acupuncture, and I am thinking about trying it for some of my issues, too.

Leave a Reply

