Books on my bedside table

I haven’t updated you on what I’m reading in a very long time! Not that I’ve been reading much – I have a toddler – n’uf said.  I don’t know why I do this to myself – but currently I have quite a few books piled up – all pleasure reading, and a few of them are on the large side.

Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacob

I just started this one yesterday – it’s for my mommy chick lit book club.   It’s about a little yarn shop in Manhattan where a group of regulars start a knitting club where they talk about love and life.  I’ve read a review that says it is like the YaYa Sisterhood for a new generation.  So far – so good.

The Fiery Cross by Diana Gabaldon

This is book 5 in the Outlander series, featuring Claire and Jaime Fraser – a true love story that literally spans centuries.  I adore this series – and have been pacing myself so that the story never ends – but now I just want to find out what happens so I’m trying to get this one read. It is  almost a 1000 pages, and considering I usually get 3-10 pages read a night before I’m fast asleep – it might take me a while.  In this book the American Revolution is about to happen and since Claire (a 20th century person now living in the 1700’s) she knows about it and tries to protect her family and property with her knowledge.  Will she? I don’t know.  I’m only 2 chapters in.

I highly recommend this series if you haven’t started it yet – I think it is up to 7 titles now.

To Die For by Linda Howard

I am a big Linda Howard fan – but sadly this book is not living up to many of her better titles (like Open Season).  It is a real predictable read – murder witnessed by a single woman, falls for the police officer protecting her… you get the drift.  I’m only about half way through – and think it will stay that way for some time.

World Without End by Ken Follett

This is the sequel to Pillars of the Earth (which is coming out in a TV mini series this summer!). In the story of the people in the town where the grand cathedral was built in Pillars, are now dealing with new technologies (1400 style) – medicine, justice etc, as well as the black plague.  The book is again over 1000 pages, so it will take quite a while to get through.   I highly recommend this series too.

And lastly…. hee hee hee…

What the Librarian Did by Karina Bliss

I’m saving this one for a hot day on the beach.  Love the title – love the picture – and the best thing is – is that the main character’s last name is Robinson – isn’t that too funny!!  Harlequins are pure and simple fluff – but so much fun. The stereotypes are just ridiculous – but I can’t resist.

So there you have it! What are you reading?

15 responses

  1. The Friday Night Knitting Club is one that I’ve debated whether or not to read. Maybe I’ll give it a try! I just finished The Help, which was amazing. I loved it! Next for me is Girl in Translation.

    (Btw, the title of your Harlequin made me laugh. Perfect choice for you!!)

  2. I’ve been wanting to read both The Friday Night Knitting Club and World Without End. Let us know how you like them all, Ms. Robinson the Librarian!

  3. I loved the Friday Night Knitting Club… and the sequel. LOVED. But I’m also a knitter so maybe that had something to do with it?!

    I always love when you post what’s on your bedside table… it gives me inspiration! I just read Honolulu and the Calligrapher’s daughter. 🙂 Now I’m reading some evanovich style books by Lisa Lutz (???)

  4. I love Nicholas Sparks, too! I have read them all. I am currently reading Nanny Returns, the sequel to Nanny Diaries an it is pretty good. I have never read a Harlequin, but your librarian one sounds hilarious! Thanks for the update, Krista.

  5. Oh, I ADORE Diana Gabaldon’s series. Definitely my favorite of all time. I am currently (slowly) re-reading them for the third time – trying to become familiar with the characters again so that I can do a better job remembering who they are in her newest book. 😉

    In between Gabaldon books, I’m currently reading Joy Fielding’s newest book The Wild Zone and have the newest Sookie Stackhouse on hold at the library. My newest fav series is Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. The third book in the trilogy is coming out this summer and I’ve already pre-ordered it at Amazon, which is big for me since I don’t usually buy books!

  6. World Without End is on my list of summer reads too. Of course, I may have to add the Librarian Harlequin to my list as well 😉 I’m in the middle of East of Eden right now and loving every page!

  7. I really loved the Fri Nt Knitting Club and did not know there was a sequel!! Ooh, I’m excited now. That was the last book I read and that was about a year ago. So sad!

  8. I’ve just recently finished “Just Let Me Lie Down: Necessary Terms for the Half-Insane Working Mom”. I LOVED IT! And I’m amazed that you even TRY to read with a toddler! I have to listen to books while I commute. Can you imagine a librarian who doesn’t actually READ? Yup, that’s me.

  9. I really enjoyed Friday Night Knitting Club and the sequel too! I’m (finally) about to finish The Surrendered by Chang-Rae Lee. That one took a while – it’s intense. Next up is Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese.

  10. I have missed these posts! I had forgotten them until I saw this one…

    I have a stack of books I need to get through- since little man’s arrival I have had less time to read and fall asleep after a page!

  11. I’m so glad you posted this – I’m really really trying to get back into reading! Ever since we came home with a toddler in November 2009 my reading has consisted of magazines, baby books – and, sheesh, a Twilight book! I miss my fictional reading and this may be just the inspiration I need.

Leave a Reply

