Tell it like it is Tuesday

Tomorrow’s the big day – we are finally moving into our new house! I have real mixed emotions about it right now.  I’m excited about the house, but I’m quite sad to leave our current place. There are so many memories here.  It’s the first house that we bought together, we got Mason when we lived here, we brought Alex home to this house, this is where he took his first steps, said his first words and so much more.  I know the next house will have a lot more firsts in it, but it isn’t quite the same.  

I must admit I’m sick of moving – I’ve been sick of moving for about a week. (BTW – I’m also sick with yet ANOTHER sinus cold!!  When will the madness end?!)  We are having a garage sale in the spring as a fundraiser for our second adoption, so we are moving all sorts of things we no longer need or use – but want to sell. I keep boxing up stuff thinking I will want it in the future (think 3 Cabbage Patch dolls, Strawberry Shortcake dolls) – but then when we actually do the lifting of the boxes and put them in the new house I keep thinking “what the heck are you doing?!” Purge!!

So I highly recommend that if you are moving and want to have a garage sale – do it BEFORE you move.  Also, only keep things that are useful, beautiful, or make you happy.  I wish I saw that billboard a few weeks ago.

I would like to share some pics from this past weekend’s Seoul Brothers get together, but my camera cord is packed away somewhere and I’m not sure where it is right now…  So here is just a cute pic of Alex from last week.

This is Alex on Elmo

12 responses

  1. I keep thinking I would love to move to a bigger house, but I know that I will be sad to leave this house just like you. Feel better soon and enjoy your new digs!

  2. Love the helmet.
    Ugh, I can’t believe you have to move stuff you’re going to sell! 😦
    I know how hard it can be to leave a house with so many emotions and memories tied to it. But think of all the wonderful new memories you’ll be creating in your new space!

  3. Oh- and by the way….I felt the same when we left our first apartment together 🙂 It’s more the memories than the actual space I think. At least you are taking wonderful ones with you!

  4. Moving sucks. No two ways about it. It’s exciting…but it’s emotional and unsettling at the same time.
    I love how you say “Alex ON Elmo” like it’s a drug…lol!

  5. i agree!!!!

    i’m glad to hear you say that the sale should be done before hand. i was starting to wish that we had waited. we have soooooo much stuff to sell! in the words of a wise AP – Elizabeth F. purge, baby purge!

Leave a Reply

