I Believe!

For the last 17 days, there has been nothing on our TV besides the Olympics (surprise surprise!).  We have gone Olympic crazy at our place.  We have been cheering for Canada and for South Korea every chance we have.   Also we have been looking for Matt’s brother Nathan – he is in Whistler on police duty – what a great opportunity!  Tonight’s win against the US (sorry ladies), was the icing on the cake. Well done Team Canada!  Not just the hockey players, but every athlete who participated in the Vancouver Olympics did an amazing job and did Canada proud.

There were many memorable moments during this year’s games.  But by far, I think the skate by Joannie Rochette was the most special.  For those who perhaps didn’t hear, shortly after her parents arrived in Vancouver, Joannie’s mother died suddenly.  Despite her obvious emotional pain, Joannie stayed at the games and skated to win a bronze medal in women’s figure skating.  What an ultimate tribute to her mother.  The finale of Joannie’s skate when she looked to heaven was so moving, I’m teary thinking about it now.

I have also been an emotional mess when watching the recap videos, and especially when I watch the new Tim H*rtons commercial (you have to watch it if you haven’t already!)

All I can say is Well Done Canada!! 26 medals, 14 GOLDS!  I Believe!

10 responses

  1. I was not very excited about the Olympics, but I have to admit that I watched more than I planned to. I have developed a new interest in speed skating, I think. Not for myself to participate in, of course, but watching! What a crazy sport. Yay Canada!

  2. i’m all teary from that commercial! so great!

    we missed watching the Torino olympics – we were in Europe traveling at the same time – so i really enjoyed watching this year. and my favorite moments were also Joannie Rochette and Kim Yu-Na of course!

    and yay for Cananda! i think you have the cutest little Canadian fan out there!

  3. I have been watching the Olympics non-stop around here too. Joannie Rochette brought we to tears as well. I was a rocky start for us Canadians, but I’m so proud we did so well in the end!! Go Canada!

  4. That commercial makes me cry as well!!!! Jeff can’t figure out why, but for me it’s because we see this all the time at work. The Proud Husband comes in to get his family library cards shortly after they arrive in Canada and we FINALLY get to meet his wife and kids after seeing the husband regularly for a year or so. I get teary as we are introduced every time!

  5. I watched nothing BUT the Olympics for those 16 days. It was glorious! I cried every time they showed clips of Joannie’s incredible performance. Such a classy, brave woman.
    Love the last picture of you and Alex – adorable!

Leave a Reply

