A family for 1 year!

As of today, Alex, Matt and I have been together for a full year!  Thinking back, I get overwhelmed at what an emotional day it was.  It truly was heartbreaking leaving the SWS after seeing how much Alex’s foster mom loved him – and we knew how much she was going to miss him.  Some of you commented about the hug Alex, his foster mom and I shared in our flashback show – it was a real special moment.  I had to cut that very short, because those of you who have been there know how personal that can be.  I wanted to share it with all of you since you have been with us on our journey – but at the same time, I wanted to keep it private (so you got a glimpse before the tears started flowing).   

We didn’t do much tonight to celebrate, just some extra special cuddles at bedtime.  This weekend we will be having a homemade Korean meal (wish us luck), and perhaps a treat or two for Alex.  I wish we had tacken a new family shot tonight – but Alex is coming down with a cold, and I’m getting over one, so tonight wasn’t the best for photos – this weekend for sure. 

Since I’ve been doing photo flashback, here are a couple from one year ago today. 

 

After!

 

Love this pic - even though it is blurry. (silly flash)

12 responses

  1. Yay!! Happy family day! And your decision to share only part of that special hug is wonderful – thank you for sharing even a part of it. *Totally* understand why you want to keep some of it for yourself 🙂
    Hugs to all you guys!!!

  2. Congratulations on the one year anniversary!!! Can you believe it? Seriously it seems like just yesterday right? What an unforgettable trip. Hope every one is doing well.
    Dina

  3. Happy Family Day! I can only imagine how quickly the year has gone by. Have a wonderful celebration this coming weekend! Love all the photos and the huge smiles on your faces! Pure Joy!!!

  4. Happy Forever Family Day! I can’t believe how quick this year went and how much Alex has grown. Enjoy your weekend and good luck with your Korean meal!

  5. Happy Family Day!! I’m all teary for you… what a special day!

    I love that you shared *any* of the hug with us. It’s such a special moment!

    Enjoy the weekend – I’m sure you will do GREAT making yummy Korean food!

Leave a Reply

