Friends and our Blog

When I started this blog back in April 2008, I wasn’t sure what it would really turn into.  The main reason I created it was to keep our friends and family in the loop about our adoption process – like I’m sure most other adoption blogs start out as.  Also I created it to keep track of what was happening myself! 

But our blog expanded to so much more.  I never thought I would meet (virtually and physically) such amazing people, many who are or have gone through the same highs and lows that we endured through the adoption paperwork, the waiting, the travelling, and the teething.  I truly consider my blogging buddies my friends.  I talk to Matt at the dinner table about the various mommies and their adventures – and he asks – ok, who does this baby belong to? or where do they live?  I’m sure I drive him nuts.  I communicate with most of you more than I do with my “in person” friends.  I can’t believe there have been almost 50,000 hits, from countries all over the world.  I’m going to have to do a give away to celebrate in a few weeks!

This year I was able to exchange Christmas cards with some of my blogging buddies – it was so much fun opening your cards, and sharing new faces with our visiting family and friends.  I think this simple little gesture shows how much we all mean to one another.

I love reading the comments my posts receive.  I have received so much assistance and support, I very thankful.  Recently I received a comment from an adoptee thanking me for sharing our story since it gave her a new perspective on the adoption process.   And actually on Sunday we are meeting with a couple who are considering adoption and have read our blog from beginning-to-end (from what I understand last weekend)!  For these reason alone, I know the blog has done some good, for both Matt and I and for others.

The blog started out with the name Robinson’s Are Waiting – but when Alex came home, we switched it to When You Wish Upon A Star – because our wish had come true.  Now that we will begin the waiting process again this year, I might just change everything up and change the name yet again – who knows!

So, since tomorrow we will celebrate the second most important phone call we have ever received, and start in on the anniversary of being a family for one year, I want to say Thank You!  Thank you to everyone  who has supported us, who has given us advice, and to those who have followed along.  I hope you continue to read on as we start the adoption process yet again later this year.

11 responses

  1. Nicely said, Krista! I started reading your blog right before you left for Korea. I checked it everyday, and it helped me through waiting for our referral. You inspired me to start our website/blog to keep our family and friends updated while we were overseas. I too, am so happy with all the friends and support that I have gained from the blogging community (and yes, my hubby gets to hear all about it at dinner too). I am SO looking forward to reading more as Alex grows up, and the journey to your next child!

  2. This is wonderful post! The blogging community is an amazing place! I have to thank you for finding my blog and commenting so that we could make that connection.

    I also drive my husband nuts talking about all the ladies and their children. He now logs on and reads blogs because he feels like he knows everyone.

    Have fun celebrating your anniversary tomorrow. That’s pretty exciting. Can’t wait to see where this year takes you.

  3. What a wonderfully worded post! You were one of the first blog buddies I made, and I think of you as one of my closest friends… even though we’ve never met! I remember how following your journey helped me survive mine … and I can’t wait to follow the next part!

    My husband has been known to comment “oh, wait you’re talking about a person who you actually SEE?!” when I tell him a story of one of my “local” friends. tee hee.

  4. I couldn’t agree more with everything you said. It’s so true that I interact with you gals way more than any of my RL friends. And the dinner conversation with Matt sounds painfully familiar 🙂 Adam always tries to match babies and mamas, and who does what, lives where, etc. Who knew that our little blogs would change our worlds so much!

  5. Thank YOU! Yours was one of the first handful of blogs I started reading. I have enjoyed reading and learning and watching Alex grow. And I have truly appreciated your friendship and your support. Really, what would we do without this community?!

  6. Krista, I agree! I found your blog in May of last year, I believe, while I was waiting for a referral and as I was launching my own blog. I’ve loved following along on your journey. I came a little late to the party because Alex was already home, but I love following his progress as a toddler. And now I’ll get to follow along from start to finish with baby #2! Like you and the other ladies, Jon and I have similar dinner conversations. It’s pretty funny. But I have to say that he’s actually getting really good at connecting the babies and the mamas and their stories! I suspect he has started checking blogs himself now and again too 🙂

  7. I can’t wait to follow along on your journey for number 2, Krista! Your blog is one of my favourites. Of course, it’s been awesome to meet you IRL multiple times! Can’t wait till we get together again! It was cool to see our Christmas card (and Belle’s!) in that picture! Enjoy celebrating the big milestones that are coming in February!

  8. Great post Krista! I love to follow along with everyone as well, even though I hardly ever comment. Just know I’m here reading, and if you ever need assistance, and I am inspired somehow with words of wisdom, I’ll post it your way!

  9. Such a nice post.
    It is so true. This community is the most rewarding, supportive, fun, caring group I have ever been a part of it and I too cherish it.

  10. I’m so glad I found your blog…but I’m super excited to “be apart” of your second adoption since I didn’t find your blog until after you brought your beautiful boy home!

Leave a Reply

