On My Bookshelf

As always, I have quite a few books on the go:

Just finished:

  • Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella – a very cute chick lit novel if you can get past the whole ghost thing.
  • Tuesday’s with Morrie by Mitch Album – this one was for my book club.  Pretty good – but I must admit I liked the Last Lecture by Randy Pausch better
  • Voyager by Diana Gabaldon – LOVE the Outlander series – this is the third.  I’m pacing myself so they never end.

On the go:

  • Lucky Girl by Mei-Ling Hopgood.  This is the story of a girl who was adopted from Taiwan and the reunion with her birth family.  So far so good.  It is the author’s life story – and includes various facts and statistics about Chinese adoption that are very interesting.
  • The Wife’s Tale by Lori Lansens – I’m really looking forward to this one, mainly because Lansens is the author of The Girls – one of my all time favourite books. 
  • Babies in the Rain – Promoting Play, Exploration, and Discovery with Infants and Toddlers by Jeff Johnson.  I haven’t started this one yet – but I thought it might have some creative ideas for activities with Alex.

So – what are you reading right now?  I’m always looking for new suggestions!

10 responses

  1. I’m impressed with your reading list! Right now I’ve got Isaac’s Storm by Erik Larson (book club selection) and also Black Baby White Hands by Jaiya John on my nightstand. I need to work in a lighter read sometime…

  2. I love Sophie Kinsella’s books! I enjoyed Twenties Girl, but the ghost thing wasn’t really for me. I also liked Lucky Girl. My local adoption group just did a book discussion about this book. Right now (among sleep and feeding books) I have The Sari Shop Widow on my nightstand. I haven’t started it yet, but it looks really good!

  3. I finished “The Girls” just before Christmas (free book from Chatelaine) and was totally impressed. What a great story! One book that I just finished and totally loved was “Still Alice”…not long but very compelling. At one point I started reading “Twenties Girl” because of course I’ve read all of Sophie Kinsella’s books….however, it just didn’t grab me and I had to return it to the library. Maybe I’ll try it again in the summer. Thanks for the other recommendations. The only book on my night table right now is “The Last Woman” by John Bemrose, which I won at an author reading of his!

  4. Oooh. Glad to hear the Outlander series is good. That one is on my to be read list, eventually {my to be read list is over 300 books long – eek!}.

    I’m reading The Hunger Games next. I heard it was good and found it at a book sale.

  5. I’m itching to get back into reading….just have not had the time or the energy to! Thanks for sharing these….they all sound GOOD!

Leave a Reply

