Christmas Memories

Wow – what a Christmas!  It has been a busy few days, with a few hiccups along the way – but so much fun. 

Christmas Eve
On Christmas Eve we went to Church – the children’s service – Alex sadly only lasted about 5 minutes.  Then he wanted to wander.  Other kids were wandering too – but our little man loved the way his voice echoed in the big church… so not so cute. 
After church we went to Matt’s parents for dinner and presents with all his brothers and their family.  There was also the annual visit from Santa – Alex was in awe – he couldn’t even make out his little “ho ho ho” that he says when we show him Santa. 

 

Sneaking some candy cane...

Helping out the reindeer...

A reading of Twas the Night Before Christmas - a gift from Grammy & Papa

 

Christmas Day
What a blur!  Alex was up just after 7, so I got up with him, he had a bottle and I made coffee and by Matt got up shortly after.  We then brought Alex up to the tree… Oh the awe in his eyes!  Now I know what people say about how Christmas is so much better with little children around. 

We opened presents and played with the toys for a while and then we had to get ready for my Mom and my brother and his kids who were coming over for brunch.  

 

 

After they left and Alex had his nap, we got ready for another Christmas do at Matt’s grandmother’s place.  

 

It was a good time… until… 

Boxing Day
I woke up at 2:30am and got sick… then Alex woke at 3 crying  and I couldn’t calm him down until I laid on the floor with him.  But then I would feel like I was going to throw up again, so I’d put him in his crib, and he’d cry and the cycle would continue.  I finally had Matt go in at 4:30.  By 5:30 Alex was in our bed for about an hour (and he slept!), then he and I were up for the day.  So I had about 3 hours of sleep.  And Alex was quite grouchy.  I think it was the disruption in his routine – and perhaps the lack of a proper meal – he wouldn’t sit to eat with all the people around!  So we ended up missing my Grandma’s Christmas that day.  I felt horrid all day and got sick again around 7:30.  After that though I slept for 12 hours and was a lot better. 

So – no Boxing Day pics to share. 

All in all it was a holiday to remember – our first with our little man.  Alex really is the ultimate gift – I could not ask for anything else!

12 responses

  1. You certainly had some high points and then a big low point during your holiday. I’m glad you are feeling better now. All in all, though, it looks like it was a really fun Christmas – so exciting to see things through a child’s eyes, isn’t it?

  2. Sounds like a nice Christmas to start – I especially love the pics of Alex sneaking a candy cane and the crowns you were wearing at dinner!

    Bummer about missing Boxing Day. I learned something new today, though. I had never heard of Boxing Day, so I just googled it. Cool! Hope everyone is feeling better now.

    • Never heard of Boxing Day?! I thought it was universal – weird! What do they call the day after Christmas in the US? Hope your holiday was just as special!

  3. (still don’t know what bowing day is..) But I’m sorry you missed it. It seems though that Christmas was great!
    Hope you feel better now and I wish you all the best for the New Year!

  4. Love the picture of Alex opening gifts next to the tree! (And I like his overalls he wore on Christmas Day!) Too bad about getting sick, but glad to hear you’re feeling better 🙂 .

  5. So sorry you are sick again. This year seems just horrible for illness.
    Christmas was so boring before our little guys came home, wasn’t it?! I love Alex ripping open the presents. Colin loved doing the first one then was distracted by playing with the toy and forgot about opening the rest.

  6. Holidays are so much fun now with little ones. Sounds like you had a busy and fun filled Christmas to start off with. I’m sorry to hear you were all sick (again, boo!). Love the picture of Alex sneaking treats. We had never celebrated boxing day until we met some British friends. They always had us over the day after Christmas to celebrate.

  7. What a lovely holiday – except for boxing day.

    How cute you put out carrots for the reindeer! We put a big bowl of oats outside for Rudolph and his buddies {and Chloe uses the cupcake decorating sprinkles and those are the “magic flying sprinkles”}.

  8. Hope you’re feeling much better now, Krista. I’ve got a nagging sore throat right now, and poor D is dealing with what appears to be conjunctivitis. He is a sad case. I really hope we’re all feeling better by the time I go back to work next week! Take care…we just have to get through about three more months of winter…ugh…

  9. Sounds like a great holiday at the beginning… sorry about the downhill slide – that stinks! Ugh!

    Love how Alex is ripping into all of his presents… Spencer enjoyed opening them. That was it. Had no need to do anything else. Silly boy!

    Great pics!

  10. what a great few days – except for the vomit – uggh. you guys just can’t catch a break. grrr.

    my boss is british and always has a boxing day party. we love stretching our holiday celebrations to one more day and being with good friends that are like family!

Leave a Reply

