On the Seventh Day of Christmas…

One of the things I really remember about Christmas as a child was the Sears Wish Book.  As soon as the Wish Book would arrive, my brother and I would grab our pens, and immediately go through the catalogue, initialling everything we wanted.  By the end, I’m sure each page had something initialed on it! 

This year, the Wish Book arrived… BEFORE LABOUR DAY!! Each year it seems to be coming earlier and earlier.  And, of course, I had to peruse it right away – folding down corners now, rather than initialling items.  But this time it was for things for little Alex.

And it seems that Alex also has my fondness for the catalogue – as you can see in the video clip below.  Please disregard my silly voice in the background (don’t you just hate hearing your own voice on film?).  I also really need to try and use our video camera more – rather than using the film option on my digital camera – the quality is just not there!

13 responses

  1. Holy cow am I BEHIND on your blog. Oops!
    I also was fascinated by the Sears Wish Book as a child. We also circled/initialed all the items we wanted. My brother also made a list…with page #s and item #s and everything. I think my mom let him do it just to keep him busy for hours & hours…and out of her hair! Love it.

  2. Adorable!!!

    Krista… I just got a wordpress blog… is there a way to upload videos onto your site without paying for the upgrade? It’s taking me a while to figure everything out (and apparently, I’m up way past my bedtime… lol).

  3. Oh, this is so cute! The Sears Wish Book was also a favorite thing for my sister and I to look through, and we used to circle and initial the things we wanted, too! How funny! I didn’t know they still published it. I’ll have to get on the mailing list for next year.

Leave a Reply

