On the Second Day of Christmas

The giving of gifts is always something that is associated with Christmas.  Of course we always buy for our family and for our close friends, but Matt and I try to also try to give something each year to a charity or cause that we believe in.  We have given toys to “Toy Mountain” so local boys and girls will have something to open up Christmas morning.  Each year we also donate food to the food banks for families in need.  And we have bought gifts through World Vision to help people around the world.  For instance two years ago, I gave Matt supplies for a classroom (appropriate for a teacher I thought).  These are all small things – but hopefully make a big difference in someone’s life. 

This year, we are supporting Simple Dreams.  Simple Dreams-To Russia With Love is something a wonderful couple from Stratford do.  Each year, Ruth and Richard Kneider travel with a team of volunteers to Russian orphanages and provide the children with a McDonald’s meal, a party, and a gift.  In January 2009, they gave this wonderful gift to 3,000 Russian children!  By donating $10, you can provide one child with this opportunity.  So we are going to support these local heros so that children half a world away will have a real reason to smile this coming year.  Last year I bought a pin in support of this program, and put it back on my jacket today (so yes, you can wish me a Merry Christmas! )

There are so many worth while projects out there that need support – how do you choose?!  By the end of the year, I’d like to support the Children’s Bridge Foundation, and I’d  like to make a microloan to someone in the Kiva system.  What are you doing this holiday season, however small, to make a difference in someone’s life?

(Tomorrow’s blog will hoepfully have  a video in it!)

10 responses

  1. So, so cool that you guys give back around the holidays. We try each year as well. It’s really fun to pick out charities. This year we did Operation Christmas Child and 826Chi, a reading and writing center for school-aged Chicago kids.

  2. What great ways to give back!! I’ve done a variety of things over the years… this year we did Operation Christmas Child, Toys for Tots, and are donating to a local food bank. And maybe something else… to be decided still!

  3. Sounds like a wonderful program! We’ve done Toys for Tots this year but I’m looking for another human charity (since the animals are often highest on my list). I’m going to check out the Kiva program (which I’ve heard great things about) and also the Operation Christmas Child that E & C mentioned above!

    • I didn’t realize the shoe box program was called Operation Christmas Child! It is a great program – When I lived at home, I would do one with my mom. She still fills a box each year.

  4. Operation Christmas Child is a great program. We have done it many years. I plan to donate to the CB Foundation in honour of Adam’s birthday as I did this past year.

  5. This is so great Krista! We give to a charity each year as well. I want Xavier to be a part of giving to those in need as he grows up and understands more. In the past we’ve given to Heifer International which is an organization fighting to help end world hunger. This year we sent a package to a soldier and donated to a food pantry. Thanks for giving ideas for other ways to donate.

  6. We pick tags off our Church tree for needy children in the area. I used to run a priviledge day at my old school, where the kids could pay a dollar per priviledge (ex. chew gum, wear pj’s) or donate a toy to get all of them. We donated the money and toys to Sparky’s toy drive. I’m really bummed because when I moved schools, my new principal did not let me do it 😦

  7. Wonderful ideas! Jon and I also give to charity. We try to do it all year round, but inevitably we end up doing the bulk of it around Christmas. Some of our faves include NW Harvest (food bank), WA National Parks Fund, and Heifer International. This year, I think we are also going to sponsor a child at Eastern.

  8. Krista, thanks for this post. I am so far behind in blog-reading that I don’t even know where to start. When I was scanning your posts, this one seemed the perfect place to begin.

    Informally, we give a grocery gift card to my Little Sister’s (through Big Brothers Big Sisters) family each year. She and her 5 siblings are lovingly raised by their single mom (she is amazing). Formally, B and I still need to sit down and figure out which organizations to send gifts to, but we usually give to RESCUE, a local animal rescue that is very dear to our hearts. I’d also like to send something to Eastern. Our agency sent us a letter about how Eastern really needed help to keep one of their women’s homes running (I can’t remember details right now and I can’t find the letter, but if anyone is interested, just email me).

    Like others who have posted here, we want to teach Daniel the importance of giving back. Again, thank you for this great post!

Leave a Reply

