The Twelve Days of Christmas

I’m finally starting to get in the festive spirit.  Not sure if it is the massive snow storm that has rolled into our area, or if it is just the excitement of the holiday beginning to show everywhere, I know for sure it has something to do with Alex being home, but whatever the reason, I’m getting the bug.  In honour of the fact that I’m feeling the Christmas joy for the first real time in quite a few years, I’m going to share something festive over the next 12 days (I’ve been inspired by Christine too!).  I’m going to share some favourite websites, music, videos, memories, and new traditions. 

By the way… According to Santa, did you know that there are 12 days, 12 hours, 16 minutes and 27 seconds left until the big day?

On the First Day of Christmas…

There are some movies that are a must for me to watch each and every holiday season.  The main one – Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer.  The original with Burl Ives – not any of those imposter versions.  

I don’t know what it is about the movie – but it is special.  I love the claymation, the music (I own the soundtrack and know all the words to heart), and the characters.  The misfits are something I’m intrigued by – perhaps because at times I see myself as a bit of a “misfit”.  

It has also been around since 1964 – a real holiday staple.

Some might say I’m a little Rudolph crazy.  For instance, I’m actually wearing a Rudolph tee-shirt right now.  I also have a collection of 20+ Rudolph ornaments for our Christmas tree (this year they are still packed away – I was afraid for their safety from little hands).  One of our wedding shower gifts was a Mrs & Mr Claus figurine. 

Now I’m embarrassed to say I have yet to watch it this year.  Since we have a new entertainment unit, our VCR isn’t being used – and I only have a VHS copy.  So a DVD version is on my radar (hint, hint, Matt!). 

I have many other holiday movie favourites:

  • Elf (and this is one of Alex’s favourites!)
  • Frosty the Snowman
  • Dr Seuss’ How The Grinch Stole Christmas
  • The Grinch
  • Home Alone (one and two)
  • National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
  • Joyex Noel (I know – does not go with the theme  here – but a very good movie)

What movie is a must for you each Christmas season?

15 responses

  1. Every year we watch National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation on the day after Thanksgiving – to kick off the holiday season. And while we decorate our Christmas tree, we always watch The Family Stone – my absolute favorite holiday movie. And then there’s A Charlie Brown Christmas which is Poppy’s fave this year.

  2. Grinch, Home Alone (1), and Sound of Music. One of the channels here always plays Sound of Music around Christmas time (maybe Christmas night?) I’ll watch whatever is on that is festive though! Happy first day of Christmas to you. 🙂

  3. Love Rudolph! What a classic!!!
    Our absolute favorite is White Christmas (Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Rosemary Clooney and Vera Ellen… sigh), but we also like A Christmas Story, The Grinch (animated), and Love Actually.

  4. Hmmm… I’ll need to see if I can find a copy of Elf to test run on Spencer!

    I don’t have any holiday movie musts… how sad is that?! I do love all the holiday programming though and have Shrek the Halls and the Grinch on the DVR right now… does that count!?

  5. Christmas Story is our fave. But I also love to watch Meet Me in St Louis at Christmastime. It’s where “have yourself a merry little christmas” is from. Great movie!

  6. Love Actually and Muppet Christmas Carol are a must for me every Christmas. I also like Charlie Brown Christmas and Rudolph, but I have to watch them with commercials or it doesn’t have the same feeling as when I was a kid 🙂

  7. It’s definitely not Christmas until I’ve watched the Muppet Christmas Carol a million times! Lily is really enjoying Frosty this year, you should hear her try to sing “corn cob pipe”! It cracks us up every time.

  8. I have such awesome memories of being little- My brother and I getting so excited when our parents told us there would be ‘a Christmas Special on tonight’. The anticipation was crazy!

    Island of Misfit Toys. Love it!

  9. Thanks for all the reminders of so many great holiday movies! Love Actually is awesome, and I love Polar Express which I am watching now. The music is great. We just watched Rudolph on CBC! Home Alone brings back lots of great childhood memories.

Leave a Reply

