Where has time gone?

Time has been whizzing by – and not in a good way.  I seriously have no idea where November went.  I’ve been off work sick on and off now for a month.  All I can say is that the H1N1 flu is evil.   It is lingering and lingering.  Now I’m having troubles breathing and my ribs are super sore still.  I discovered though that I did not actually crack my ribs as I thought – I strained the cartridge or something like that.  Either way, I still cannot lie down, yawn, or cough pain free.   

Now my little man is sick – but I think it is just a bad cold.  Yesterday Alex was supposed to have his 18 month shots, but the sitter told us when we picked him up that he had been coughing a lot, so the dr held off on the shots.  And thank goodness because Alex woke up in the middle of the night with a fever. That was his first official fever with us and man does that suck.  You feel so helpless! Tylenol, cold cloth, water, and tonnes of cuddles.  Today I stayed home with him and hopefully Alex will sleep through the night and be able to go to Megan’s tomorrow. 

And then I look at the calendar – today is the 25th!  One month to Christmas! Last year this time I was all done my shopping – or pretty close to it.  This year… I have a few presents bought (a Tonka truck for Alex and a Little People Farm, and a few other odds and ends) – but otherwise I have a list of who to buy for.  That’s it.  I want to arrange for professional photos to give as gifts, send out holiday cards (perhaps I will  just put in Alex’s b-day thank you’s in as well), and and and…

I guess this is life as a working mother!  You never have enough time, and you never know what is around the bend.  I know I’m complaining – but we have to do that sometimes.  And as I keep stressing so certain friends, I need to remember my new motto “Keep Calm and Carry On”

12 responses

  1. Oh, I’m sorry to hear that you and Alex are sick! Yes, your complaining is totally allowed… you have a lot on your plate!

    I like the new motto, too!

  2. Ooh, I like the new motto. Perhaps I should adopt it, as well!
    Hang in there. I’ll get planning our dinner out and we’ll have some fun 🙂

  3. Poor little Alex!! Since I know you read my blog, I think you know I have no problem with complaining here and there!! If it makes you feel better, I’m not much farther along in holiday prep than you are and I wasn’t sick, nor do I work outside of the home! (And I also haven’t sent out adoption announcements yet!)

    Hang in there! 🙂

  4. I needed to hear that motto!! A little bit of panic has settled in here. At least there are only just over three weeks left of school before Christmas holidays. Hopefully Alex is feeling better today. (and you as well!)

  5. It is SO frustrating when your child is sick, I totally agree on how helpless you feel. Hopefully Alex AND you will be on the mend soon!

  6. I need to follow that motto too. That really stinks that you have been sick for so long and now Alex is sick. I hope December is a better month for you!

  7. ughhh. i’m glad that a new month is just around the corner. i hope that it will be filled with lots of healthy vibes!

    and i agree, getting all the frustration out and writing about it is so cathartic. you deserve to complain about it!

    hugs to you and to Alex – hoping the little guy feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

