Poor little man…

Alex is still sick.  He came down with a doozy of a cold almost 3 weeks ago – runny nose and cough – but after a week he was left with only the cough.  And it has not gone away.  It was getting worse and worse, waking him up at night and in the morning, and actually sounding quite painful – however Alex didn’t seem to really notice.  On Tuesday Matt took Alex in to the dr’s who said he has a lot of congestion in his upper respiratory area due to the “environment”.  Turns out there are a lot of kids and adults with that right now.  The dr. prescribed a puffer and one of those masks for administering the meds – which surprisingly Alex doesn’t mind.  Luckily it is not infectious and Alex could continue going to the sitters.  But on Wednesday I ended up taking the afternoon off and went to get him from Megan’s – good old Mommy Guilt.  I want to be the one to care for him when he’s sick!  I know Megan is a good caregiver, but when Alex is being extra cuddly because of the cough, and from his eye teeth coming through, I want to be the one to comfort him, not someone else.  Some times I wish I could be a stay at home mom.  The cough seems to be getting better and Alex is sleeping more soundly at night which is a huge relief.

11 responses

  1. I remember the first time Poppy got a bad cold and then the cough came afterwards – and the doc said that it could last for weeks. Luckily it only lasted about 10 days.

    Glad you were able to take time off from work to comfort your little guy!

  2. Oh, poor boy! I hope he’s back to 100% soon! I totally get what you mean about wanting to be the one to comfort him. While I don’t love my current work situation, I’m really lucky that I am able to be with Spencer.

  3. Oh, nothing gets to a mommy’s heart (or guilt) more than when her little one is sick. I would have done the same thing: gone home to snuggle and care for him. Hope it doesn’t last too much longer…icky.

  4. Oh, Krista… isn’t it just heartbreaking when your little guy is sick? I’m just in tears when my baby isn’t feeling well. And good for you taking the afternoon off to comfort him. Of *course* I/we understand that desire and fully support it! You deserve all those extra snuggles and he deserves his mama 🙂

Leave a Reply

