We survived.

Alex and I both survived his first full day at child care.  Horray!  Matt also survived his first day back at school, away from Alex.

I woke up at 6am, even though my alarm wasn’t set until 7, thinking about the day ahead.  I knew it had to be done, but it was still sad thinking about Alex being in someone else’s care full time.  I dropped him off at 8:20 this morning.  When we arrived at the sitters, I saw a girl I went to highschool with dropping off her boys – so it was nice to know another person who trusts their children with Megan.  I also know a police woman who’s daughter goes there so that is also reasurraing. 

I went in, talked to Megan, and gave her the diapers and Alex’s supplies (sippy cup, change of clothes, meds, and his ‘doggy’ for nap time).  Alex seemed to know what was coming.  He stuck close and kept looking at me like “are you leaving me here?”   But he didn’t cry – which was a blessing – otherwise who knows what state I would have been in.  I left, and while I was sad, I kept it together. 

I actually booked the day off as a vacation – just in case there was a problem and he needed me – but no emergency calls came.  So, I vacuumed, cleaned a bit, and dealt with a paint colour issue (pictures to come). 

At 3:40, I decided to go get Alex, even though I didn’t have to pick him up until 4:30.  He seemed very excited to see me – even though he was happily eating O’s.  Megan told me Alex had a great day, except at nap time.  He didn’t want to sleep – cried and cried and she had to rub his back until he was asleep.  I’m sure that is normal for the first real nap away from home (minus the cottage naps).  He was also in a playpen which he isn’t used to.  He slept for just 45 minutes so he will sleep well tonight!  I was told Alex loved their pet cat, and even licked one of the cat’s ears… not sure what that was about – but at least he wasn’t pulling hair.

He still has a bit of a cough, and the sniffles – but not as bad as on Monday.  I also feel like I’m coming down with a doozy of a cold – I’m pretty sure mine isn’t teething related (although my last wisdom tooth was acting up yesterday).

I still don’t have new batteries for my camera (tomorrow I swear!), so here is a favourite from the summer that I had not posted.

cottage 124

11 responses

  1. Ugh, I hate to tell you, but when I read the “he’ll sleep well tonight” statement, I cringed a little. Bad nap usually equals bad bedtime around here 😦
    And tee-hee. Love that he licked the cat’s ear. Watch out for hairballs!

  2. way to go, krista! i remember leaving theo for the first time… at home with his papa when i had to return to work. i was physically ill and had to pull my car over a number of times throughout the night!!! it gets easier with each baby… somedays going to work feels like a vacation around here!!!

  3. It sounds like everything went fairly well today. It is definitely tough to have to let go and have someone else watch your baby. Adam had an adjustment as well with napping in the playpen, but he’s pretty used to it now. Alex will be settled into his new routine in no time!

  4. So happy the first day went well! That must be such a relief!

    I hope that the night went better than bedtime… we’re in the same boat as Elizabeth… bad naps equal bad bedtimes here too!

    What a cute photo!!!

Leave a comment