Survived!

Well I survived my first day back to work.  I woke up early so that I could spend time with Alex this morning, give him his morning milk and cereal… but he slept in!  So more time to drink my coffee and get dressed which was nice.   When I left the house, he was in the front window waving goodbye – that was so sweet – but heart breaking too!  Guess I better get used to it.  I was greeted at work with a lovely bouquet of welcome back flowers from my supervisor – Thanks David – and within 10 minutes I was already working on restoring the downed phone system.  Luckily I remembered all my passwords and the day went pretty smoothly.  I am extra lucky that we live so close to work, so I could go home for lunch.  When I arrived, Alex was feeding himself spaghetti… a real mess as I’m sure you can imagine – so I put on an apron and cleaned him up and had a good cuddle.  Then I read to him and put him down for a nap.   Alex seemed excited to see me after work – but not as excited as I was to see him! 

You really do cherish the minutes you do spend with your child even more  when you don’t get to see them all day.

11 responses

  1. I’m glad to hear you had a nice first day back. It sounds like you enjoy your job, and how nice that you’re close enough to go home for lunch!

  2. Glad to hear that your first day went well! That is awesome that you can go home for lunch! I know I will be looking forward to the hugs when I get home from work too!

  3. You made it! Oh, my heart just ached reading about him waving from the window and the cuddles you got. And how wonderful that you could put him down for a nap. Hopefully each day will get a bit easier.

  4. I’m glad to hear that you survived. It’s wonderful that you could come home at lunchtime! Hopefully things will get a bit easier as you all adjust to the new situation.

  5. The first day or week I guess is the hardest. Then you fall into a routine and things get better. The best part is when you walk through the door at the end of the day to kisses hugs and squeals!

  6. Congratulations on your first day back! Oh how my bottom lip wobbled on my first day back….I was barely under control. Glad you survived it, welcome to the land of the working Mommy!

Leave a Reply

