Friday Favourites

Today I thought I would share Alex’s 3 top favourite books so far.

This one isn’t much of a fav now – but it was huge when we first brought him home: Perfect Pets from the Bright Baby series.  This is a touch and feel book that goes over various pets that one may have and has tactile sections for the child to tough – the goldfish scales are really cool!  We have quite a few of the Bright Baby books and Alex really enjoys all of them.

Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?  by Bill Martin Jr and Eric Carle.  This fun book goes over all different wild animals, seeing what they might see – in the end it is a dreaming child watching over them.  I like to say it with a bouncy rhythm.  I just love all Eric Carle books – I think it is the nostalgic feelings I get from remembering reading them as a child myself – especially The Very Hungry Caterpillar!

 

And last by not least – Bunny’s Noisy Book by Margaret Wise Brown.  This has to be Alex’s all time favourite so far.  He sits very still while you read it to him.  He is also now doing some of the actions that I put into the book like stretching, scratching etc.  It really is just a cute, well written story by an amazing author.

 One that I’m newly fond of too is Sometimes I Like to Curl up in a Ball by Vicki Churchill and Charles Fuge. We have it out from the library right now – but I have to get our own copy – it is just adorable.

What is your child’s favourite book?

7 responses

  1. Those look like great books. I also like the Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You HEAR? I’ll have to get back to you on which one ends up being a favorite for Baby D. 🙂 I have a feeling we’re going to end up spending LOTS of time in the children’s section at the library. I already LOVE it and I don’t even have a child to take there yet. I cannot wait to take him there!

  2. They sound like awesome books, I’ll have to jot these down for future reference! Like Janet, I can’t wait to read great books to my child some day and take him to the library. One of my all time faves is Where the Wild Things Are and Are You My Mother?

  3. I must brag that I was the one who gave Alex the Panda Bear book…muahaha!
    Harrison’s fave books include ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas, which is really bizarre to be reading in July!!!!

  4. Currently Ruby’s faves are anything that makes noise and Dora’s Book of Manners. There is an ice cream cone on the front cover and she likes to point and chant “eat eat”. Par for the course with this girl!! Kaneu’s faves are The Gruffalo and The Tiger that Came to Tea.

  5. Xander likes the Happy Baby books who are made by Priddy books (the same as Perfect Pets). He also loves The Very Hungry Caterpillar and Goodnight Moon. I’m esctatic that he loves to sit in the rocker with me and listen and look at books!

Leave a Reply

