Rest of Day 2

So yesterday before we went to meet Alex we went to the EMart – something like a Walmart.  It was pretty cool – lots of interesting foods – a whole counter devoted to styles of kimchi, and lots of fish!  The really interesting thing was the walk there however. Here are a couple of neat pics.

After we got home from EMart, we got ready to go meet Alex! We went over to the SWS hospital and met our case worker.  She then packed us all in a van and we were driven about 30 minutes east of the city to the foster mom’s home.  It was on the 5th floor of a building – lots of stairs!

When she opened the door, we were ushered in and it took me a few seconds to realize that Alex was strapped to her back in a baby carrier!  We all sat on the floor, and Alex was put in front of us and he just looked at us with a “Robinson” look – he had just woken up, so he was kinda grouchy.  That didn’t last long.  Within a minute he was holding Matt’s finger and smiling.  He is so freaking cute!  Of course, earlier that day he had been trying to stand up and he fell, and banged his head, so he has a couple of bruises on his face.  Soon enough we were holding him – it was awesome.  He has very chunky feet and hands, and he is a very big boy.  I really don’t think the clothing we brought is going to fit him!  I packed 6-12 months (he turns 9 months this coming Monday), but he is already over 20lbs!!  Very sturdy little boy.  I am going to have massive muscles very shortly!

seoul-2009-0291

The foster mom served us a homemade rice juice (very good!) and some fruit and rice cakes (tasty – but chewy).  While we ate, I asked the questions about Alex and we found out he is quite the social baby.   He likes to stay up until midnight and wake up at 6 – he wants to be where the people are.  We will be changing his sleeping habits as soon as we can 😉

Alex was intrigued by me – he kept staring at me – perhaps the blue eyes.  He also loved my necklace and it quickly found its way into his mouth.  I think the Who Loves Baby album we had sent over helped in some brief recognition of us.  We have much more video footage of him than pictures, so when we get home we will break it down into photos and post them and some video.

Krista & Alex

 

It was hard to leave, but knowing that in just a few days we will have him forever made it somewhat easier.

One more pic of Alex… sorry – dont’ have my cropping software here.

 

seoul-2009-0311

After we got back we celebrated with a bottle of wine and talked about meeting Alex and how amazing it was.  Around 6:30 we went out to dinner at Yeoksam subway station.  There are a lot of great places to eat down there!  We went to a Korean /  Chinese restaurant and had rice bowls.  I made the bad move of ordering Kung Pow Chicken… VERY HOT!  Matt ended up eating most of it for us. The kimchi there was very tasty.  At the end of the meal, a bowl of grape frozen yogurt was served – AWESOME!  We keep trying to eat with the chopsticks, but usually within a few minutes, forks are being delivered.  We stick out so much! 

Anyhow, in bed by 9.

Today we will be going to Changdeokgun Place and Insadon Market to look for mementos to bring home.

24 responses

  1. WAHOOO this post is just what I needed to read today. It does happen parents and children do find one another. Congratulations on your beautiful little boy. He is truly amazing. Thank you for sharing.

  2. I know all about the sore muscles!! Daniel is probably around the same size as Alex – just over 20lbs, and my arms and back ache most days. Alas! Soon we both will have huge pipes 🙂 Don’t worry too much about the clothes. Daniel fits 6-12 months with ease. 12-18 month clothes still are too big – too long even for our tall man. Lots of room in the waist too. Enjoy your tours this weekend! So much fun!

  3. Krista! He is adorable!! Thanks for posting more pictures. Enjoy your touring before you get Alex. It is definitely much easier than with a baby, as Barb can attest. We had the same amount of time before we got Adam (Friday to Tues), and it was a good amount of time to check out the sites. Enjoy your Saturday trip to Insadong!

  4. Hey Krista- how neat that Matt’s mom is there too, I didn’t realize. Seeing your pictures and reading your words made me teary, I can’t wait to see you at the airport on Thurs. I am so happy for you guys and Alex is beautiful. He’s all yours now

  5. Okay, all the pics are lovely but I have to say, the one of you and baby boy brought tears to my eyes! You are one beautiful momma 🙂 So happy for you!

  6. He is sooo cute! I can see how incredibly happy Matt is to hold him and I can see in your face that the joy is exploding from you! We are thinking of you and can’t wait until next week!
    Staci, Todd & Jackson

  7. oh, my. i’m a little emotional these days to begin with, and this just sent me over the edge. he is beautiful, krista. absolutely. i’m crying crazy happy tears for you guys.

  8. OMG! Love the photos – thanks for sharing! Alex is adorable! Can’t wait to meet him and give him a big hug – and hopefully soon he can have a playdate with Harrison! Enjoy your time there and keep on blogging – I love the updates!

  9. Hi Guys
    You all look so happy and I’m very happy for you. SPL was busy looking at pictures Fri and Karen W put up a welcome Alex display.

  10. What a beautiful family!
    Alex is a very beautiful little boy…and he will look really good in a Hab’s uniform.
    Krista, I noticed that Alex would rather eat books that read them….he must take after me. You have a lot of work to do here.
    Looking forward to giving Alex a big hug!
    Missing you and love to all,
    Grandpa R

  11. Thanks for posting more photos. I can’t seem to get enough “Alex” photos. I can hardly wait to see him in person. He is certainly very cute and cuddly. Everyone at the library is glued to your blog and so very happy for all of you.

  12. Your pictures are just wonderful! I am glad your first meeting was so amazing for you! He is just so darn cute!!!! Your arms will be super strong in no time! Your carrier will really help too.

    Enjoy your sight seeing this weekend! Insadong is such a great experience. Lots of fun shopping! Looking forward to hearing all about your adventures and seeing more pictures.

  13. These are great photos Krista! He is sooooo cute. 20 pounds!!! Holy smokes! Your biceps are going to get pumped up in no time!

    I love the photo of you with Alex. The “mommy-love” is oozing out of every pore of your body. You’re going to be such a great mommy.

  14. He is absolutely beautiful!! It looks like we are both going to have big boys on our hands. You’ll have him with you in your forever family before you know it!

  15. Hi, my name is Julee and I am 21 years old. I was adopted from SWS in Seoul, Korea when I was less than a year old. Your story was beautiful, it made me want to call both of my (adoptive)parents and tell them how much I loved them. They went through the same experience as you two, and reading your blog made me see everything from a completely different perspective, the experience through their eyes. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

