What I’m Reading…

I just realized I haven’t shared recently what has been on my nightstand! 

Over the last little while I have read:

  • Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult.  This was my first book by Picoult – and it won’t be my last!  This woman can write a story. 
  • A Good Woman by Danielle Steel.  This was the fist Danielle Steel I have read in a very long time.  I was intrigued by the era the book was set in – WWI.  From talking to others at work who read this one, the consensus is is that it is one of the better novels she has written in quite a while.
  • Mercy Among the Children by David Adams Richards.  This book is nominated for the Canada Reads competition – and is well deserved.  This Canadian novel is set in a very poor New Brunswick town and follows the life of the Henderson family as some try to do what’s right in life while others rebel. 
  • The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks.   I didn’t love this book.  The story was good – but it somehow did not grab me like The Choice and At First Sight.  Worth a read though.
  • Tallgrass by Sandra Dallas.  This is what I’m currently reading.  It is set during WWII and evolves around a family who lives in a community where an internment camp for Japanese Americans has been set up.  Very interesting so far.

Books on my nightstand waiting to be read include:

  • Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
  • Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett
  • The Queen’s Fool by Phillipa Gregory

I know – you are all laughing – when are you going to read those!  You have a 9 month old baby coming home in just over 2 weeks!  Oh I will find the time – it is one thing that I need in my life.  I’ve always been a reader and will always be a reader – even if it is a few pages a day.  And I don’t get library fines so I don’t feel too bad if I return it late 😉

8 responses

  1. i have to agree… one of the best ways to wind down at night after the boys are in bed is with a good book. right after i pick up all of the legos, that is!!! i just started the tale of edgar sawtelle… so far, so good!

  2. Jody Picoult (sp??) is my favorite new authour. I am reading picture perfect now and love it. 19 minutes was the first book I read by her too! It’s an awesome story. Enjoy! To bad we didn’t live closer you could borrow some of the books I have by her for the plane ride!!!
    Mason and the chocolates cracked me up! Johnson has a “taste” for leftover chocolates too. Luckily, he hasn’t ever had a reaction either. Wonder if it’s a spaniel thing? LOL!

  3. The Queen’s Fool is great! I recently read it, along with 2 others by her and was surprised at how much I enjoyed them. Wouldn’t have picked them out for myself but someone at work suggested them. Same with Picoult – I’ve passed many midnight shifts with her books 🙂

  4. Yet another Picoult fan here! I’m anxiously awaiting her next book to come out… she’s so good! She’s one of the few authors that my sister, my mom, and I all adore.

    I’ll have to put some of these other ones on my wish list… I just finished a book by Gregory… that I think you suggested?!

    And I’m with you, I’ve always been a reader as well. I can’t imagine going from several books a week to none!

  5. I didn’t have any time to read during the first month and a half that Lucas was home nor did I want to when I had the free time. Sleep was the priority! However, now that Lucas is starting to have a more consistent sleep routine, I have started to read again! Yay! So you WILL be able to find the time to keep reading! No laughing here.

    My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult is excellent!

  6. I’m an avid reader too, and I still found time to read when Alex slept or if Chris was keeping him busy, etc. Sometimes it’s easier to read and relax for a baby’s naptime vs. trying to sleep yourself.

    And I hope you enjoy Twilight – a very easy read, but still a fun engaging story that I inhaled last summer while camping. If you like Stephanie Meyer, she’s written a book for a more adult audience called The Host – I really enjoyed that as well.

Leave a Reply

