When, Where, What

So here are the details as I have them now…

 

We will be leaving Toronto on January 27 at 19:50, arrive at JFK at 21:35.  We then leave JFK for Seoul at 00:50.  We arrive in Seoul at 05:00 on January 29 (their time) – so we lose a day (that’s ok – one less day to wait before we meet Alex!)

We will be staying at the Social Welfare Society Guest House in the larger family room.   We do not know yet when we will meet Alex for the first time, but hopefully on the 30th!  I don’t think I could wait all weekend!

We will leave Seoul  on February 5th at 20:55 and arrive in Toronto at 19:45 on February 5th (we gain back that lost day!).  This is a direct flight which will be nice!  The Children’s Bridge has arranged the travel, so I’m not sure what airline we are dealing with – I think it is Korean Air.

It would have been nice to travel earlier, however most of the flights to Korea are already sold out!  People must be going early for the Lunar New Year Celebrations! 

We also needed to arrange for Korean Won.  I went to the bank and ordered up some spending money for when we are in Seoul, and it won’t be available until next Wednesday.

And, we are still in the process of interviewing for my job!  It would be nice to have someone in place so I can do some orientation… but it is looking more and more like that won’t be happening.  My last day at work is going to be January 23.

So in 2 weeks – we will be in South Korea!!  and in 3 weeks, we will be home! We waited exactly 2 months for our travel call.

Thank you everyone for your encouragement and support over the last few months, and especially over the past few days –  it has meant the world to us.  And we can’t wait to share the next leg of our adventure!!

8 responses

  1. God is so good! I am so happy for your family!!! I just can’t wait to see what comes next for you!

    I’m also (selfishly) glad you will still be here for my big reveal this weekend! 😉

  2. i am SO HAPPY for you. i have goose bumps. God IS so good (simply and well put, shelley!!!) i am having so much fun, checking in every day on your journey. thank you, again, for sharing it with me.

  3. i am SO HAPPY for you. God IS so good. (Simply and rightly stated, Shelley.) I am having so much fun witnessing your journey, and I am so thankful that YOU have shared it with me.

  4. Well wishes are sent your way! Congratulations.
    I can’t wait to read what’s next! Is this the best year ever or what! With lots of love and best wishes from the Thomson’s.

  5. Soooooo exciting!! 🙂 EEEK!!! Please post as much as you can while you are over there… I’ll be living vicariously!

    (And hey, I know you’ll be *really* busy over there, but if you see the pile of home studies, you think you could sneak mine on top?!) 😉

  6. Yay, I got butterflies reading about your journey! I know it’ll be tough, but try to post (or at least journal for yourself) while you’re there… you’ll be glad you did b/c it can kinda become a blur.
    I think you’ll be staying in the EXACT same room as we did when we were there! We were in the two-bedroom family room at SWS. So crazy…
    I don’t know if it helps at this point, but it’s *really* easy to exchange for Won in the airport in Seoul.
    OH MY GOD I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!!!!!!!

  7. Congratulations on your travel call! So very exciting! We’re in the other waiting phase…for a referral. Can’t wait to be where you are…headed off to Korea to pick up your child…soon! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

