Books

I haven’t had a chance to write about what I’ve been reading for a while… So here is what I’ve been up to:

I started, and gave up on, two books:
Your Sad Eyes and Unforgettable Mouth by Edeet Ravel (just couldn’t relate and it wasn’t flowing for me – really enjoyed the book Ten Thousand Lovers… but not this one)
Sleeping Arrangementsby Madeleine Wickham (Sorry – but I like her writing as Sophie Kinsella MUCH better – leave it at that)

I have two books that I will recommend:
Shoe Addicts Anonymous by Beth Harbison (Listening to it on CD in the car, and it is a great chick lit book, with lots of laughs)
The Last Summer (of you and me)by Ann Brashares (kinda like Nicholas Sparks, haven’t read the Sisterhood books, but this one is just a nice story about 2 women and 1 man in their early 20’s, who encounter love and pain on Fire Island NY)

Next I’m starting There’s No Place LikeHere by Cecelia Ahern. 

One suggestion for holiday reading if you are looking for something to get your Christmas Spirit up – The Autiobiography of Santa Claus by Jeff Guinn.  I LOVE THIS BOOK!  It is an adult level novel, and tracks the life of Saint Nicholas from biblical times to present day.  It makes you smile, it makes you cry, and it made me excited again about Christmas and it reminded me about the true meaning behind the holiday.  I hope it makes you excited too!

2 responses

  1. Goodness knows, I need a dose of the holiday spirit over here in Scrooge-ville (although I bet I am singing a different tune after Turkey Day!) so I’ll have to check that St. Nick book out! Thanks for the info!

    (Loved Shoe Addicts as well – putting The Last Summer on my wish list!)

  2. I loved Shoe Addicts and The Last Summer of You & Me…also loved Getting Rid of Matthew; I’ve read all of Cecelia Ahern’s books except A Place Called Here…just couldn’t get through it. Thanks for all the recommendations!! I love your taste in books.

Leave a Reply

