Bumper Pads

I’m back from Digipalooza, the conference was great and I will post more about the trip once I upload pictures from my camera.

Ok, so bumper pads.  As I mentioned in a previous post I was wondering if bumper pads were safe and necessary for a crib.  I have surveyed my friends and here are the results:

“used them with both the girls and never had a problem, they secure well to the crib and would be very difficult for the baby to suffocate itself. Also, I think it is good so they don’t bump their head against the side of the crib rails.”

“We got a bedding set that included them and we never used them – too many cons and I was terrified of SIDS. We debated putting them on recently as “baby” had fallen over (while jumping in his bed!) and hit his head, but then a friend pointed out that he could use them to step up and possibly fall over the edge….so no, I don’t think they’re a good idea.”

“Didn’t use them – heard some bad stories about very little kids getting caught up in them and reduced air flow. I didn’t look into it – just didn’t just them.”

I used them in the very beginning.  At around 5 months “baby” started to roll a bit and I was afraid that “baby” would roll into one and suffocate as “baby” only knows how to roll one way.  I will probably put them in again when “baby” can move around independently.  Plus, they make the crib look so much more beautiful!

“We used bumper pads for a little while but I found them annoying and the cat kept trying to play with the strings…I think they really are just decorative and I don’t think they provide actual safety. I could see how they could be dangerous, I remember waking up one morning and “baby’s” pudgy little face was pressed up to the bars of the crib, facing me like “baby” had been awake and watching me and I thought A/awww how cute and B/if he’d just rolled over in his sleep like that I’m sure glad I didn’t have bumper pads on the crib. We haven’t got any for this baby and come to think of it, most of the people I know who’ve recently don’t seem to have any on their cribs…”

“I think that it depends on the age of the child.  If he/she is really young and can’t move very well…I wouldn’t use them.  We started using them after 6 or 8 months when baby was more mobile-they also help to keep the soothers in!  Ha ha!  The health unit does not promote their use but as I said, if the baby can move around then they should be okay.  We have our Angel Care monitor that goes off if “baby” stops moving or breathing!”

“We started using bumper pads when “baby” started sitting up and moving around the crib because he kept hitting his head.  I didn’t use them when “baby” was young because i read stuff about air flow and SIDS but I found them necessary when “baby” started hitting his head, arms, legs etc.  It would wake him up.”

“I think bumper pads are another marketing ploy to make you spend money!! They have a very limited time when they are safe to use and are barely worth it.
You shouldn’t use them until the little one is rolling and able to lift their head (so they don’t smother), and then you need to remove them once the little one starts to stand so that they can’t use them to step up and fall out of the crib. I really think you only safely get a couple of months use out of them.”

So there it is… seems in my small survey the results were close – but most people didn’t use them, or don’t feel that they are useful for long periods of time.  I’m wanting to sew my own baby bedding, and it would really help reduce the amount of work I need to do… Any other thoughts readers?

2 responses

  1. So it seems like general consensus is no. To me, that’s good and bad. The bedding seems so much cuter with the bumpers, but is so much less work for creating yourself. (I also want to make my own baby bedding) I’m so torn! Of course, it doesn’t help that I had designed in my mind the bedding prior to finding out about this whole “bumper issue” so I’m trying to break from my vision.

    Bottom line: I’ll probably say no as well. Why risk it? Plus, I’ll be the one with the kid who climbs out – that’s the way it rolls in this house. And I’ll have to buy so much less fabric!

  2. The “official” word on bumpers is don’t use them in the babies sleep space regardless of their age. They increase the risk of both SIDS and accidental suffocation and have no purpose other than decorative. Decorate your babies room, not his or her crib! Did you know that in August 2005, the Canqadian Government issued a warning to parents not to use bumpers because of the hazards that they pose?

    In the U.S., it is left up to the Consumer Product Safety Commission to issue such warnings – which they have done.

    Remember when you’re decorating that all baby needs in his or her crib is a mattress, a tightly fitted sheet and baby. No blankets for infants under 12 months of age. No pillows, no boppys, no quilts, no stuffed animals – nothing but baby. Dress your baby in a sleep sack or feety jammies rather than using a loose blanket.

Leave a Reply

