Another couple of books…

Over the weekend I was away at the cottage and found time to finally finish some books I’ve been reading.  One that was referred to me by a friend was called Digging to America by Anne Tyler.  Digging to America was actually about 2 women who meet each other at the airport – picking up their daughters from South Korea!!  The book then details how the families evolved and intertwined. Two things I found really interesting.  One was that one family instilled more Korean culture on their daughter, while the other let the child really just be herself – and the differences between the girls was quite something.  Also the difference between the children coming home after a Korean adoption and a Chinese adoption.  Unfortunately the Chinese daughter in the book was a little behind and was not bonding as well as the Korean daughter.  I think it is a nice read for anyone, especially for those who have already or are in the process of adopting from South Korea.

The second book I finished was Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich – I’m a huge fan.  Sadly while I did enjoy book 14, I wasn’t too happy in that the questions left from 13 were not answered – ie marriage?  Ranger?  Still a fun summer book!

One response

  1. I just finished Fearless Fourteen a couple of weeks ago myself and was also irritated! Fearless Fourteen!? More like 13 1/2…

    I also read Digging to America this spring and enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

