Books and more…

I’m a reader – I love good fiction, and some occasional non-fiction.  I’m also a librarian, so I’m a bit of a nerd and have to organize the books I’ve read using LibraryThing – http://www.librarything.com/profile/klarobinson215

One thing I’ve noticed since the whole fertility thing became an issue with us, is that almost every book I read, included infertility of some sort.  While choosing the books, there was no indication in most books about infertility being a subject matter, so it kept shocking me.  Some recent titles include:

Second Chance by Jane Green
Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
Rise and Shine by Anna Quindlen
Certain Girls by Jennifer Weiner
Other Boleyn Girl by Philipa Gregory
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
Third Twin by Ken Follett

Then there is the movie Of Mice and Men (that one was a little more obvious).

I’m just happy that infertility is being discussed more and more.  With 17% of couples experiencing some sort of infertility issue, this subject does need to be in the media.

About a month ago, I watched a commercial on tv – it was for a bank and there was a very proud woman opening up an educational RRSP for her new niece.  She talked to the bank worker about how happy she was and that her sister and brother-in-law had waited a very long time for this child.  Anyhow, at the end of the commercial, the aunt goes to visit the family, and there is a couple with an asian child.  I was so happy to see that commercial – it made me feel that I am not alone – and that adoption is in the media (other than Angelina Joli adopting yet another child)… However, I haven’t seen that commercial since… and sadly I do watch a lot of tv. I hope it was not pulled.

Two other movies I watched this weekend were also on the topic of adoption – August Rush and Juno… it’s everywhere! 

Oh yeah – and Sex in the City!

Leave a Reply

